Hey steemit! Introducing myself – data nerd, crypto geek, keen on traveling & dreaming big

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Who am I?


Hi! It’s beginning of the year 2018, now I’m a 31 years old guy currently living in Warsaw, Poland. I graduated in 2010 with a major in databases. I’ve been working for various IT companies (like e.g. Samsung R&D, Accenture) mostly as a software developer. I’ve been to more than 20 countries – traveling and photography is my passion. I’m currently in a relationship with a girl quite similar to me, she’s studying big data and speaks in 7 languages. 

Us, in Koh Lipe (Thailand), 2017

As far as I remember, I was good at math. I got my first PC when I was 14 years old. It had a huge influence on me and made for finding passion which connects logical thinking and focus on details. 

I moved from my hometown to start computer science studies. In the year 2008, I joined AIESEC which allowed me to get into *global* thinking and understand better other cultures. 

During my student life, I decided that best for me will be being my own boss and I should slowly move to self-employment after some time :) 

What I do currently?


Left my data science job at the end of 2017 to pursue entrepreneurship, analyze open data and publish data visualizations, take part in data competitions (e.g. Kaggle) and to regularly write on Steemit.  

I do my best to finish this year my PhD in the field of Social Informatics.

Who is a data scientist? -  an infographic, which roughly describes my background

My interests


Analyzing open data & reaching a wider audience.


Inspired by Reddit posts (e.g. r/dataisbeautiful) I created a Steem account to inter alia do some similar visualizations basing on data publicly available on the Internet. In the year 2013, thanks to the fact that I started a full time PhD course in the field of Social Informatics, I started learning some data science skills, which are useful for finding patterns, events and social behaviors in data.  

My analysis of Stanford's SNAP dataset on Tweets about "Higgs boson discovery" (2012)

I like infographics and maps which "effectively convey some information". There are 2 places I can suggest for downloading open data for further analysis. Most important portal is Kaggle - and their "datasets" section - at the moment I'm writing this, it holds around 10,125 datasets, and... 

208 of them are bigger than 1 GB 

which is nice :) Another place where It's possible to find open data is called Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection - SNAP: Stanford. In Stanford's SNAP, there are high quality datasets, because all of them must be backed by a journal paper where their analyses have been made. 

Cryptocurrency


I’d like to share my story as well as publish current news from the world of crypto.

I'm enthusiastic about the Ethereum platform.

Entrepreneurship


I’m currently doing some side projects which maybe can be monetized. In the past I’ve been part of a startup which failed, great lessons learned.

Source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/153077560@N03/34990243633

Hobbies


I'm a runner, former Kendo kohai (student of a Japanese swordsmanship), ran a marathon once. Nowadays, I focus on traveling and reading news from the world of crypto & startups (I like reading Steemit, Reddit and TechCrunch :) )

Traveling


My recent travels where to: Hawaii (USA), British Columbia and Seattle, South Korea, Malaysia, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Hungary, Ukraine, Oman. I enjoy making new friends with help of CouchSurfing portal. 

View from the top of Burj Khalifa building, Dubai


Photography


Kaszuby region, Poland


Owner of Nikon D5200, former owner of Nikon D90.

Beetle, Altai Mountains (Russia)


What I promise to contribute?


  • I’ll publish once a week results of exploratory analysis of some big open data and hopefully create some interesting visualizations in Python or R language.
  • I'll write about important news from the world of crypto currency.
  • Any other things I wish to share - photos from my trips, essays, description of my projects, etc.


How to reach me


Steemit comments

I'll check them on a daily basis. Thanks!

Facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/social.networking.geek/

Twitter

https://twitter.com/oskarj86


Sort:  

Welcome to STEEMIT. Have lots of fun, Post a lot, Comment a lot, Vote a lot and make lots of STEEM.
Great to have you aboard.
UpVoted

I like this professional introduction. Welcome to Steemit friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65