Why I chose to create a Steemit Account

We've all heard, seen or read about the massive rise in value of BitCoin over the past year, as well as the dozens (if not hundreds) of ICOs that have dominated our social media feeds over the past several months. It has given people all over the world reason to pause and think about what could very well be the next big disruption in a digitally-connected world.

Sure I'm intrigued by the rise of Bitcoin and Ether, and still do not fully comprehend what blockchain technology is or how it becomes digital currency for its users. But when I first heard of Steemit, my first thought was to tell myself how I wished this was around years ago.

()

My name is Patrick Vaillancourt, and I am a brand-new content creator on Steemit. I've blogged very extensively over the past 8 years, but given the volatility in the range of topics I choose to explore, I was never really able to stick to one blog or another. I now have a personal website where I keep all of my posts -- a collection of anecdotes, recipes, political rants and observations about, well, anything.

When I heard about this platform, I was intrigued not by the possibility of making money (although that was a consideration) but in being a part of a platform that has seemingly found a way to monetize and incentivize content creation, content curation and user engagement. Cloe, a friend and colleague, brought this up to me and I was immediately hooked on the idea of joining early and contributing to a revolutionary idea.

What I will write about I'm not yet sure. I think this venture into blogging will not be unlike the others, in that they do not have a singular focus. My audience will be exposed to a potpourri of different things, which, I hope, will allow people of diverse backgrounds and interests to engage with me.

My interests include cooking, writing, computer programming, travel, politics, philosophy and generally sharing observations and experiences I've been fortunate enough to live first-hand. I also have a deep appreciation for independent learning, and so I'm also active on sites like StackExchange and edX. I'm working on my writing with the hope that I can publish my first, full-length novel by the end of 2018, in addition to practicing poetry. I'm also well-travelled and have an interest in learning languages. I am fluent in English and French, while having a basic understanding of Korean thanks to my three years spent living in what has historically been known as the "Land of the Morning Calm".

In an effort for people to get to know me, I've included as my second-act an article about my time spent travelling throughout the United States. I hope you will engage with me, express your opinion, debate and challenge me -- but more importantly, I hope you will find something useful in what I have to say.

Photo Credit: Damian Gadal(Flickr)

Sort:  

I'll bet all my steempower that you will be one of the many big time whales here in steemit one day.
Unlike me, here's an additional skilled writer in the house. Steemit just keeps on getting better and better.
I have a good feeling you'll be liking it here.
Looking forward to your articles. Enjoy and more power! :)

Thank you for the comment. I appreciate the support.
I have to say, having published my first post less than an hour ago and already getting engagement is a positive thing. This platform sure is revolutionary in its thinking. Hope you come back to read more. :)

Very happy to have onboard, a very experienced blogger! Looking forward to your posts!

Thank you! Happy to be here. Thank you for the comment. Hope you keep coming back for more.

Welcome aboard , Im new as well but I think this is great , Plus Ive invested in Idea long before I joined, I was buying steem on the exchange and the decided to take a look . Im glad i did , You have a new follow plus an upvote .

You've brought up something I need to look into more; the idea of investing into a cryptocurrency. I think it's safe to say that those who were early investors in BitCoin are pretty happy right now. I honestly don't know enough about how it works, and even though I've watched the intro videos on YouTube, I still can't wrap my head around this new digital currency idea. But I will be looking into it further and I'm already hooked on the fact that this platform is very engaging. Thank you for your comment and for your support. I've followed you right back!

Awesome Patrick!!! I knew you were made for this!

Hahahahah! I hope you're having an awesome trip. Looking forward to you getting back!

I have to better my blogging skills, but I believe my cohesiveness with the English language will not work in tandem with the Spanish speaking side of my brain. I’d like to believe I have good ideas to blog about. It’s great that you’re fluent with two languages. I’ll give you an upvote and follow so I can keep up with your content and become a better blogger myself. And while at that do you have any tips ?

That's always a struggle. I know some Korean, but when I think about what I want to say in Korean, I have to think it in English and translate before I speak it, so I know where you're coming from. I appreciate the follow and the upvote. In terms of tips, I say keep at it. Write a little bit everyday. Don't try to sound too polished either; usually when people think of the perfect word to say in the moment they either don't finish the post or end up making it much too long and lose the reader. If you're writing about something you are truly passionate about, write from the heart. Chances are, if it makes sense to you, it will make sense to your audience. And if not, that's what comments are for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51