Hello To My New Steemit Friends! I'm Mike!

Hello Steemit world I am very excited to be here. My name is Mike and I have been working in the health and fitness field for 20 years. It has been a journey that I could never have imagined.

I started out being a trainer helping people get healthier and give them some inspiration on loving who they are. My world as a trainer changed in March of 2005.

My mother was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer and suddenly I found myself beating myself up everyday over the fact that I am helping people get healthier but I couldn't do a dam thing for my own mom. Two years into her fight, my dad got the dreadful diagnosis of having cancer also.

After a courageous battle of 4 years, my mom's fight was over and she didn't have to suffer anymore. Three years after that was the end of my dad's battle.

I was devastated on the loss of both parents when I found out about a new program in 2011 that the YMCA was going to start doing. Livestrong at the Y it is called.

I just new I had to be involved. It is a program that helps cancer survivors to start in the world of exercising.

I went away for training and the program has been great. I have met so many incredible people that have come through the program. I get told how much I have helped them but little do they know, each one of them help me be a better person!

The Livestrong at the Y program gave me that spark to be a trainer again, one that I had lost. I now teach other classes, work with child obesity, and work with the disabled.

Here is a pic of one of my groups that finished one of my 12 week Livestrong programs.

I also have created a website called Exercise and Nutrition Tips http://exerciseandnutritiontips.com

I am excited to be a part of the Steemit community. I don't know what to expect. I am
getting close to 50 years old now so maybe some of my life experiences can help someone, who knows. Thanks for reading this.

Sort:  

Hey 50 is the new 30...or so they say :P. So glad that you took your pain and turned it into something positive for others to benefit.

Thanks for the kind words and yep 50 is the new 30 lol!

Wow, that's really tough losing both parents so young. I love your resilience though, and your determination to help rip other people out of the clutches of disease by helping them get fit. Great demonstration of "knock down seven times, get up eight" - admirable! I'm pushing 50, too... 50 is nothing like it used to be.

Thank you and you are so right, 50 is nothing like it use to be especially if you can learn from your mistakes, be kind to people, and don't forget to laugh! I am following you.

Hey mate, quick question:
How do you post pictures into posts???

I upload the photo to imgur.com and then take the direct link and put it in the post.

I upload to http://imgsafe.org/ and take the direct link and put it in my post.

Welcome to the gang, Mike. I lost my father in March. That was quite a blow. I can't imagine losing both parents so close together. Good on you for turning that into a positive. I look forward to hearing more from you.

Sorry for your loss and thanks for the follow!

Hey @ptmikesteem, I just wanted to connect with you. I'm sure your story will help many people :)

Thanks, I am now following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27