My first post: All things PC

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemit!

My name is privoid. You may have seen that this is not a real name. I don't want to give away my real name here just yet.
Anyway, I'm from Germany, currently attending school. In my freetime I love to do things like programming, gaming, video editing and fiddling around with computers and their hardware.
I've been programming for almost two years at this point in time and the only language I have learned until now is Java. At first I learned it purely because I wanted to write mods for Minecraft, a game I still played actively back then. But that quickly faded as I switched to first writing desktop and then Android applications. Today I mainly work on programming Android apps because I currently am missing ideas for desktop programs. I also recently started getting into the Unity game engine. I wanted to do that to learn what it's like to make games. More specifically, first person shooters. I use C# scripts in the engine because C# is very similar to Java.

Here are some of my applications:

Erinnerung (literally translates to reminder from German) is my first major application. It may not look like much, but it's the application with which I started to learn to do some major things in Java.
It's built on Java's GUI library, JavaFX. It's a program you can use to remind yourself of things at a certain point in time, with a message of up to 100 characters. I also added some other features like making the program start up when your computer starts so the reminders would actually appear. You can also set a custom sound for your reminders instead of using a random standard sound out of four. The program even features updates. They're not fully automatic, but they work, atleast somewhat :).
(By the way, if I look at the code today it seems like a complete mess. I've improved my coding style a lot since then.)
Erinnerung Screenshot.PNG

My next big application, simply known as Presentation, is a tool I sadly never use that much. I worked on it for a while and it turned out pretty nicely. It's something I always wanted to use for school, though I never ended up working with it. Presentation allows you to import a video and set "keyframes" where the video will be stopped during the presentation itself.

Presentation Screenshot (Start).PNG

As I already mentioned, I love video editing. I use Adobe After Effects for it. I know it's not meant for editing, it's mostly used for creating special effects and stuff, but I now know it and I won't switch anytime soon. My plan was to combine school and video editing, making presentations in After Effects. The problem I was facing back then was: "How do I get the video to stop when I want it to?". Presentation is the answer.
This is what Presentation looks like during editing. The orange rectangles are the keyframes at which the video will stop. The programming in this application went much smoother than the first application and it even features support for multiple languages (German and English because I don't speak another language).

Presentation Screenshot (Edit).PNG

The following is a screenshot of my first Android app running in an emulator. It's an app for taking notes. It also features more advanced functionality like hiding and encrypting notes, protecting them with a password and a fingerprint and setting reminders for them. I made this because I really needed a version of my previous "Erinnerung" program on my phone. It ended up being a lot more than that and you can see how much I've improved since writing my first big program.

Notes app screenshot small.png

If I'm not working on one of the big applications I sometimes also build some smaller things to help me do something. For example, I wrote an application that starts everytime my computer boots up that downloads some random images from flickr.com (with a theme of course, I don't want all images) that are then used as my desktop backgrounds.
I also once made a program to help me translate my Android apps. It's not that good (it only uses Google Translate) but it gets the job done.

By the way: If you're wondering how I came up with my name you just need to look towards the code I write. "privoid" is a combination of Java's keywords private and void used for keeping variables, etc. in a single class and for a method that doesn't return anything respectively.

As I said above, gaming is also one of my hobbies. I'm playing on PC of course. The games I play the most at the moment are PUBG, Battlefield 4 and Battlefield 1. I've been gaming for a long time now but only recently I got into playing first person shooters and, needless to say, I love them.

Another thing I mentioned in the beginning is my passion for computer hardware. I really like it and I'm (almost) always up to date with the newest hardware releases and announcements. I love building PCs and I built several for my friends over the last couple of years. I also built my own one of course, though it's not the best PC since my budget for it is and was fairly limited.
Another thing I thought was worth mentioning is that I am into custom ROMs for phones. I myself use CyanogenMod 13 on my Galaxy S5 and I really like it. I haven't switched to LineageOS just yet but that will probably happen at some point.


Back to steemit then. I discovered d.tube and steemit via a German YouTuber (who is also active on d.tube now) known as @sempervideo. It seemed like a really interesting concept to me, especially because YouTube is getting worse and worse in my opinion. So I just decided to join the platform myself.
I probably won't post frequently. Maybe I'll upload something to d.tube, probably some gameplay with friends or something along those lines. Let's see what the future holds!

Thanks for reading this long text, I just thought it was worth writing :)

Sort:  

I envy your drive. Not much to add, I really enjoyed you going into detail of your programming endeavors. Videos are nice, but your writing is entertaining too.

Thanks for your comment, maybe I'll make some videos in the future. Love the platform so far :)

welcome to steemit have a good time

hi welcome to steemit, please follow me and lets make a difference here....nice comment by the way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55863.62
ETH 2927.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28