Here I am! (Introductions, musings, verification...)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

In the beginning

Greetings community! I come to you with excitement and perhaps as much confusion. What am I doing here and what do others do here? I try to answer half of that!

My name is Prem Barbosa. I write to you from [usually] sunny south Florida. If the above image didn't give it away I fancy myself a musician. I sing and write lyrics with a band called Mother, though I also sing and write works of my own.

 Would you buy wisdom from a vending machine? What’s too much to pay?
And if the wisdom you acquired is expired, will you see if it works anyway,
or has gone rotten?

Would that make you a fool, if it bad wisdom? Or maybe you could get lucky. A wisdom for all seasons.
 

To the heart of the matter...

Having followed the inception of bitcoin you might imagine my excitement about a community which exists on a blockchain, the idea that these very words have a life after all conscious beings forget their existence.  As an artist such possibilities strike my fancy, though I don't necessarily come to you as a musical artist.  And while I deem myself somewhat a wordsmith, I readily admit to other, less expressive qualities as well.

I've studied all manner of topic. Of late I concern myself greatly with history. I worry about the current state of humanity, status quo, and find at least a bit of solace in the realization that we did not invent our problems, but rather carry these qualms from our past. I use history as a tool to better understand things as they are because we so often take for granted that things must be a certain way.

I try to combat this sentiment, subservience to circumstance, in my music and in other efforts. I try to keep up with current events, advocate civic participation and social activism, and regularly get on the moral high horse to virtually face endless supplies of internet buffoonery.

When I have the will, I blog on the state of journalism and local news. Mainstream media strikes me as more regurgitative than investigative, which bodes poorly for the state of American social awareness. To that end I enjoy deconstruction, and avoiding pop culture to whatever extent possible.

Though I sometimes throw the word anarchist around, I  believe in the good neighbor, and that it takes a village to raise a child. I advocate cooperation and voluntary communities of affinity. I decry over-use of generalizations, not limited to the minimizing notion of a conservative-liberal political dichotomy. 

I might say much more, both about myself and the topics already covered. Perhaps soon I will!

Sort:  

Fantastic intro post. You should do very well here, WELCOME!

Thank you, I appreciate your words. I also find some of the chatrooms a bit friendly as well.

Welcome to Steemit. Stephen

You are very welcome. Stephen

Welcome to Steemit! :))

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my name Emanuella sambagini of Italian
origin and I live in France, I plan to donate all my
goods. I now have in my personal account; the sum of 60,000 euros that
I had kept for a construction project. But I
be willing to give you money to help you in your business to make your
own name as a project dear to your heart
more, please kindly consider my offer because it is a gift that I
offer. I would not afterwards whether you
can benefit from this donation. I suffer a lot and I'm very scared, I
almost can not sleep at night and day because I do not want
die without having done all this money donation otherwise I think it
would be a disaster. I lost my husband three years ago, that touched
me
lot and I could not remarry until now we did not have children. Please
contact me as soon as possible if
you agree to my offer. Peace and mercy of God be with you.
My email address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
That of Christ peace be with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50