Potentially Disgusting Scam - Hope It's Not True! @groovy #introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

A potential extremely manipulative scam that may profit $3,965.

My flags were raised with the verification picture with the child.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@groovy/having-a-son-with-down-syndrome-an-introduction-to-aiden

Running that picture through https://imageedited.com, the pixel information that was returned was rather suspicious.

Though I understand that doesn't necessarily prove any deceptive photo manipulation.

As a result I politely asked you to provide evidence, in the form of a short spoken video. I gave you 4 hours to provide proof, and nothing.

I hope this post will attract your attention and will incite you to provide greater evidence, but for now it appears as though you use the disability of a child to emotionally manipulate the community into upvoting your post, and as though you are waiting for the payout, hence your silence.

If true, not only is this underhand, but pretty base.

This is not the kind of content that merits to be on such a progressive platform as Steem. Therefore, I will flag your post and encourage others to do so.

I apologise if I have made a mistake, but the risk of allowing such deceptive posts to exist is too great.

Why reverse image search doesn't prove anything

Simply, any scammer worth his salt knows how to modify some pixels to prevent search algorithm's from matching it with it's non-modified counterpart.

#introduceyourself #steemit #steem #new #hot #money #anarchism #crypto #internet #future #life #steemwatch #investment #world #blockchain #positive #writing #introduceyourself #bitcoin #economics #ethereum

Sort:  

Thanks for the watchful eye, @positive. I upvoted the post because I (naively) did not think someone would sink so low. I hope for the sake of this community, @groovy is who he says he is.

These things will continue to happen at a larger scales. If it involves money you bet it will attract negativity. This is something the developers of Steemit are trying to figure out how to regulate all this spam. This is why Steemit is on Beta mode. They are learning as you are day by day of how to improve on the design. For now just do what you can to live your life in peace. Block it out and continue with your wonderful day.

I agree. For now, I'll flag and expose. At least this behaviour won't be incentivised.

That would explain why I got five down votes for my comment.

Google chrome warns me not to enter: https://imageedited.com

what's that about?

It's some online software that displays the image's metadata, there are others you can use I'm sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50