I don't have all the answers, because the questions keep changing!

My name is Rui.

My vision of the future is bested only by my inability to reach it.

steemit1.jpg

I’ve lived on four different continents, but both my parents are Portuguese. If I had to describe myself, it would be as an African-born Portuguese-American.

I work in finance, and I’ve been very successful in my field for over twenty years. I’ve built a good reputation, developed many skills, and learned many lessons, the most important of which has been to expect the unexpected.

My brother and I are building a football (soccer) media company, so I’m also an entrepreneur. That company is our dream, and yet that dream is constantly evolving.

steemit2.jpg

I am married, and a father of four. The opportunities offered my children, along with their potential far exceed my own. Every day they challenge a new barrier, or surpass some limit imposed upon them by the establishment (their parents.) I never know which of my buttons they’re going to push next, and they never cease to amaze me.

I am a technology buff, and an investor. I am a big fan of the Blockchain and all its potential. I’ve known about Bitcoin for almost a decade, yet I’ve never felt compelled to invest in the crypto currency market. My cousin refocused my attention back to this space about a week ago, and he pointed me towards a site called Steemit. In the time I’ve been lurking here, I’ve learned that there isn’t a consensus on what the future holds for Blockchain tech-backed crypto currencies. Some say the sky is the limit, and some say the plane is crashing. What I know so far is that both sides are ridiculously passionate about their opinion, that passion drives change, and that change leads to progress.

steemit3.jpg

I’m not sure how I will contribute to this community, but I gather it will not be dissimilar to my contributions in other communities, from video gaming forums to volunteer organizations; from sporting news sites to neighborhood get-togethers. When I am passionate about something, I invest my time, I learn whatever skills are necessary to participate effectively, and I make a difference.

I look forward to meeting most of you, interacting with some of you and arguing or agreeing with a few of you.

I know two things:

• I probably don’t have any of the answers you’re looking for; in this space, or any other.

• and change is coming. It is the only constant, in every aspect of my life – and yours.

I’m smart enough to know that I’m not smart enough. And like the old geezer I am becoming, I’m annoyed about it.

[The Portugueezer]

Sort:  

Good to see good people joining! Welcome on board, sir!

Appreciate it!

Welcome to Steem @portugueezer I have upvoted and sent you a tip

@portugueezer, great intro.

I appreciate the honesty about not have all the answers, but I hear something in your post that makes me think that you are good are searching for answers.

I have been on Steemit since June 2017. It has been a wild ride! Welcome to the community. Following

Welcome to steemit. Nice to meet you!

Nice to meet you too!

Congratulations @portugueezer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71