Hey Steemit! I'm Shawn from SkipMBA! :) An Ex-Janitor who Self-Studied his way to a Six Figure Salary! Here's a short intro about me!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hey Steemit!

Not gonna lie - I was a bit nervous to do this. Not sure why - haha.

My name is Shawn, and I run SkipMBA.com with Krisha Aranha (verification here!) I believe she'll be posting an introduction post soon too! She's kinda shy.

I post on reddit quite often. Some of you may know me. Most of you probably don't.

My background :

Due to a series of unfortunate events (family tragedy bla bla..) I found myself alone in a brand new country (Canada) as a highschool dropout. My journey in Canada started as a night-shift janitor. But I self-studied my way through University (couldn't make it to most of my classes cause of the night-shifts) . Started self-studying how to be a programmer and got my first job as a developer. Things progressed to me getting my Master's Degree, and a Six-Figure Job. It was a crazy ride. I still don't have a highschool-degree btw. Haha

If you're interested you can read the entire story here: Janitor & Highschool Dropout to Six Figures & MSc Degree

Why We Started SkipMBA:

After this entire journey, I was supposed to do my MBA -- but realized that it'd be foolish for me to go $100,000 in debt! Afterall, I've already proven to myself we can learn ourselves! Krisha was also considering doing her MBA at the time - but she didn't believe in the system either.

So we decided to Self-Study An MBA and document my journey on the internet. The community has grown steadily since then! This is a self-learning, free-education journey for everyone! I invite you guys to join me!

Over the past 6 or so months I've read over 50+ books. It started really slow - but it got better! I maintain a reading list & free course list on the website that everyone can use to self-study an MBA. Information, books, courses etc is easier to access than ever! We don't need to dump our life savings into an outdated institution! We can do it ourselves - for free!

Journey Before Destination

I remember when I got to Canada, things were pretty bad. Everything seemed to have gone wrong. Just when things couldn't get worse, it did. I was broke, fat, a highschool-dropout and just got dumped too. My family was broken and torn.

But I always focussed on the "journey" and not so much the end goal. Tbh, I never really knew where I wanted to "end" up anyway. Today, after a series a small steps I'm at a pretty good place. But the journey took me around eight years. This isn't one of those "I turned my life around quick" stories. Far from.

But all the small steps added up eventually. I don't know why I'm telling you guys this. I used to keep all of this quiet. But maybe it will help someone... shrugs

I currently run SkipMBA —another journey that I'm hopign will end well — with the help of my beautiful girlfriend. And life has never been better. Here is another pic of the two of us being goofy!

Conclusion:

Jeez - this turned out to be a much longer post than anticipated. Apologies!

If you guys have any questions please don't hesitate to ask :)

Also, do you guys have any tips for me? Hidden etiquette that I should follow? Would love any advice!

Heart you guys all,

Looking forward to grow with this platform!

Shawn :)

Sort:  

Hi Shawn, great intro. I have been reading intro posts for the past 45 minutes and this is the best one I have read so far. Posting can be a bit hit or miss at first. I have followed you as it sounds like you have a very interesting story. I have also resteemed this post to give you more exposure.

Wow! Thank you, eroche! :)

Really appreciate it.

Yeah, I was kinda expecting this heh. But I'm going to keep the content coming. Hopefully more people can follow on in the future!

Followed you right back btw!

Welcome To Steemi! Check out my Account for all Post to help you get Started. Sounds like i'm about to embark on the same Journey as you abroad to a Foreign Country

Welcome Shawn!
You will love it here!
I am looking forward to read your future posts!
Following you!

Hey :)

Thank you! Followed you back.

Indeed, I've been lurking around Steemit for a while now, and I'm excited to start contributing :)

Welcome to Steemit!

wow great mission in mind! You are going to love it here! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@entice

Thank you! FOllowed ya!

Welcome! That's an awesome story, good on you :)

MBA is a meme for fools. One can learn almost anything by themselves.

Welcome to the Steemit community @porco1x Your story is amazing and interesting. You have gained a new follower in me!

:) Thank you. Appreciate it, truly. Followed you right back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43