Hello Steemit! My name is Alex

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemit folks!

Its nice to meet you all, and to finally be here! I have heard a lot about you, and am excited to give Steemit a try. I have never done any written blogging, but there is a first time for everything.

First of all, this is a picture of me (Alex):
IMG_0709.JPG

I am a product manager in New York City at a FinTech startup. I am not originally from New York City, but I have now been living here for three years. I like to keep busy and I have a lot of hobbies and side projects, with blogging now maybe being one of them. To list a few:

  • Travel (first and foremost!)
  • Mining (cryptocurrencies)
  • Painting
  • Making cocktails
  • Cooking

Travel being near and dear to my heart, I like to occasionally post pictures of my travel to my website, or to my instagram. I welcome any travel suggestions that anyone has, and am happy to try and give some advice if anyone needs some! I have so far visited 29 countries, and my goal is to get to all of them. So still a little ways to go, but all in good time. Also, since I am sharing, one of my life ambitions is to do a North to South (or South to North) car trip from Cairo to Cape Town.

A little bit on my cryptocurrency background, since that is a little bit of why we are all here. I started mining bitcoin back in college as a fun side project because a bunch of my friends were into it. I caught the bug and started building bigger and more elaborate mining rigs, and started roping in my college roommate to help. When college was up I took a hiatus, but in the past year picked it back up again. I find the technical aspects of putting together computers that 1) shouldn't work, 2) generate too much heat, and 3) use too much electricity mildly entertaining, and reaping a reward from your efforts is a nice byproduct. Since picking mining back up I have begun some amateur investment and day trading in cryptocurrencies, which I have also found to be rewarding (both in a $$ sense and a mental exercise sense). So, if you don't have travel advice, maybe leave me some links to good articles on the latest crypto technology, trading platforms, or investment strategies. I will be sure to read them all!

I think that will wrap it up for me now, but I will be sure to be back with some more posts. Maybe some cocktail recipes (creations of my own), or some updates on my latest travels. As I said, I'd love to get some feedback from you guys, the community, because that is why I am here in the first place!

Happy steemit-ing (steeming?),
Alex

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @ponx I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit Alex. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. :-)

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Welcome to steemit, as a fellow crypto investor you may be interested in my channel. https://steemit.com/@wolfofcrypto

Thank you, it does look interesting! I will follow along

As we are talking about travelling, I would like to ask you where you come from originally! As for the crossing Africa, check the Facebook page Crossing Africa, where a Canadian man is doing this on foot. If you know Spanish check acrobatadelcamino, it's a couple of Argentinian hitch-hikers who are doing the same. Anyway, welcome on Steemit ponx!

Hey Alessio! Originally I am from Washington, DC. It looks like you are quite the traveler yourself and have done some pretty amazing trips (as well as planned some fun upcoming ones). I will check out both of those pages (I do speak and read some Spanish - enough to get around). Thank you for the advice

Welcome to the community. Wishing you nothing but great success with Steemit. Followed because I love travelling as well and saving for some trips down the road myself. Seeing the world is the best way to spend you time I think

I couldn't agree more! Any good recommendations?

I am dreaming of Italy myself lol...have a lot of friends that been there and jealousy still sitting in Florida wishing to check it out but will one day. That is my dream at the moment lol

Having been there myself actually five times I can tell you it is absolutely worth visiting. Lots of amazing history, architecture, and scenic beauty. (But I am a little biased, being that all of my ancestors are from Italy).

Personally I come from a thick Irish background in my family, I am American but grandparents are from Ireland and we have family over there still...never been but that is on the list as well. Italy though, in life here I have always had this thing for Italian women lol....and I guess through the years of dating them I got to see some sides to the Italian way and the stories from over there and just grew to love the place from that family orientated side. Seems like a very beautiful country...not just the women lol but my fiance has some Italian in here too so that helps lol. Weird I am mostly Irish and have a thing for Italy, that must be unnatural lol

Welcome aboard steemit! This is the right place to be.
Please feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK to get instant updates on assorted yummy and nutritious recipes from all over the world.

Hi!
My name is YUNSEO
24 y old nice!

Welcome @ponx to STEEM! Traveling is life :)

I agree! You learn a lot about the world, and yourself when you travel

whats up Alex? amazing post! would really love to see ur further content! followed! kindly follow me back please!

Thank you! Will do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62