Hi dear Steemit friends, I'm Nicky from Amsterdam!

I think it's time to verify myself!

unnamed.jpg

I’m Nicky, a 22 year old student from the Netherlands with a passion for music, photography and most of all traveling. I study Russian Studies at the university, and I’m mostly interesting in the Eastern part of Europe. Why this study? I don’t know; I love languages and I’m good at it, and I like a challenge. I’m in the third year of my studies.

B6AC0DAF-EF9A-4BA2-A38B-D3ECABAE24E6.JPG

I lived in Saint Petersburg a semester and travelled back and forth a few time during the three years, so I think I spent half a year there in total since the beginning of my studies. Also I have been with my boyfriend who is from Russia for a year, so I have had quite some practice with my Russian skills. We have been struggling with the fact that I’m from the Netherlands but he’s not, so he has been coming with a Schengen visa. This doesn’t allow him to work, and he can only be here 90 days in 180 days so this basically means that he is broke all the time. The salaries in Russia are very low, and everything is even worse when you have to work really hard to travel to a country where everything is twice as expensive.

unnamed (17).jpg

I hope to graduate next year. The aspect of my studies that I love the most is linguistics. In the future I would love to start my own translation and interpreting agency. Although the study is not the easiest one and it costs a lot of time, the salaries in the translating and interpreting industry are not very high. But I always think it’s more important to do something that you love.
I have been a big fan of music my whole life. My parents met at a David Bowie concert, and my parents always gave me all kinds of instruments. I always sang, when I was 12 I started playing drums, I kept doing that but when I was 14 I switched to electric guitar and violin. I stopped playing violin pretty quickly because it was impossible to learn it by myself and I was more interested in playing guitar. Do to study pressure, I don’t play guitar every day. I do still visit concerts all the time. The most recent concert I’ve been to was Paramore, and the concert I’m most looking forward to that I have planned is from my favourite Russian artist Noize MC, which is going to be in Moscow the 14th of July.

image1.JPG

That is basically all that is interesting that I have to say about myself. If you have any questions about me, feel free to ask. Thank you for reading!!

Sort:  

Welcome to the steemit community @polyurethane...funny name :) Amsterdamn is on my bucket list! Im over by Saint Petersburg, but Saint Pete over in the states.

Haha, okay thanks! So how it is in Florida? What is it like?

It is very hot and sunny :) This time of the year is perfect to visit because of the beaches.

Great sunset!!! Amazing view

Welcome to Steemit! Good luck!

Thank you. Cheers. :)

Look forward to your blogs, a new follower right here 💪🏼🙌🏼😀

This is definately a follow from me too. Looks to be some good content coming in the future. All the best from Norway :)

Nicky @polyurethane ,welcome to steemit. You have interesting story, you love music ,looking forward for graduation. All your dreams will come through. Just work hard here, showcase your talent, make friends, be active in the platform. See you.

Welcome to Steemit Nicky!
You're going to love in here

you are hihgly welcome here..

Welcome to Steem friend. Let's build this community! I left an upvote for you! Would be happy if you follow me for the latest tech news etc.

BTW and if you need help, you can always get back to me!

Okay, I will check out your account! Thank you :)

Hi and welcome Nicky from Amsterdam. I'm always interested what young people on the other side of the globe have to say. I get a completely different perspective of things.

Hi nicky! Greetings from Spain! :)

Welcome! Hope you share some good content with us! This is a great way to meet people from all over the world. I am a Brazilian writer and videomaker, living in London. Here I post about photography, travel and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

Yeah, I love this international platform as well! Good luck with your successes. I'll check it out :)

Welcome to the Steemit Community... Pleasure to have you. Enjoy and don't forget to have fun

Thank you!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38