My Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemit members!
Come on a journey with me through time as I introduce myself. I'm Sarah Ruth Liang, known here as the poetrychick. No, I am not Chinese, but my last name is... I will get back to that in a bit. I grew up in the suburbs of New Jersey, the Garden State. I love my home state. I love hearing the birds chirping as the sun rises. I love gardening outside and inside. I love many kinds of plants. I love taking little cuttings of plants to grow new ones by propagation. I love writing poetry during quiet moments to express my heart and soul, my concerns, my experiences, my memories, my hopes, etc.
My family is close-knit and loving. My home church is filled with sweet, accepting people. I'm a Baptist. I've served in my church since I was a teenager. Now I'm 37, but I have a young-looking family gene, so people keep telling me I look 20. I get that comment almost everywhere I go. That seems to run in my family. People say my Mom looks like she's my older sister, and they think her Mom is my Mom, but my Mom's Mom is in her 80's. Her Mom before her was always quite young looking.........
Anyway, I love public speaking!! I absolutely love it. If you were to give me the choice of A) hanging out in a room filled with people my age and have to mingle and talk there, or B) speak in front of them and encourage their hearts... I'd pick B over A. I know that's not very common, since many have a fear of public speaking.
I taught Sunday school for 10 years, and I was a Bible Club Missionary Teacher for 15 years. I sang in the choir, including some solos. I have studied 5 foreign languages, including Mandarin Chinese and Spanish. I love how Chinese looks like art and sounds like a song. It's so beautiful! I've only traveled out of the country once, and that was to Canada for a different perspective of Niagra Falls. I was there for maybe 30 minutes. I love, love chocolate. I love baking with chocolate. I love salads and avocados. I grew up with cats and dogs and fish and adjusting water quality for fish. I adore my parents' dog... Here's a good ole NJ picture of me with her. She makes me laugh with her silliness!

When I was 34, I met my husband...
He grew up in China eating authentic Chinese food. Then he studied English with intense zeal until he became so proficient he sounds American.
After our December wedding, we drove so far away from my family. Since I enjoy cooking, he taught me how to cook "real" Chinese food. And he encouraged me to return to college. This book has 10 poems that kids can enjoy...

Then this one below has over 100 of my poems to encourage hearts...

I joined the Mississippi Poetry Society and published books in addition to attending school and getting into Honors. I took all the Spanish courses they offered, and loved it.

My hope is to continue on to fluency in both Spanish and Mandarin Chinese.
I would like to share poems and recipes on Steemit, maybe some other things as time goes by. I love writing. I may write other books in the future. Before this gets as long as a book, I'll close. Thank you for reading my intro. Have a good day!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. :-)

Congratulations @poetrychick! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

welcome to steemit @poetrychick, so glad having your personality in this platform, looking forward to more of your posts.

followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49