Hi from Belgium!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi steemers!

I got approved to the network yesterday, so I'm very new to it - but very excited! I got pulled in by a keynote about blockchain and thought this was a great idea!

So who am I?

Capture.JPG

My name is Maarten, I'm a web developer from Belgium.

Last year, I quit my well-paid consultancy job to travel to Australia (literally the other side of the world from where I live) with my girlfriend.

We bought a crappy 4 wheel drive (for the Europeans: 4x4) and drove around Australia for a year while living in our car. Note: we're both taller than 1m80 (5.9 feet) so that wasn't ideal ^^.

With the risk of sounding cheezy, I can honestly say this has been the best experience of my life! We've seen some breath-taking views, done some crazy things - and especially - loved the year of freedom so much we decided to become digital nomads.

A digital nomad is someone who is location independent, works online, and travels the world while doing so.

So after a year, we flew back to Belgium and started a business, since that's the easiest way to become location independent - just work for yourself!

I'm now in the process of growing my business as a freelance web developer. We'll see how it goes!

Some random facts

  • I'm an introvert when it comes to writing and I think I suck at it. So this should be an interesting experience for me ^^.
  • I got very interested in crypto's & blockchain recently. I'm reading up a lot, but I still consider myself a newbie.
  • I am Belgian, but not necessarily in love with beer or fries.

And finally: nice to meet you ^^. I guess that's it for this quick intro!

Sort:  

Welcome Maarten. You should give us more stories from Australia. How long did you wait for approval?

Thanks Novina! I may end up doing a few photo journals in the travel section. Or whatever people are interested in. I have a lot of advice regarding Australia so that could be helpful - thanks for the tip! :).

I waited 3 days to get approved. Would that be the normal time frame?

Hello Maarten and welcome to Steemit!
I wish you have good time and enjoy posting awesome posts :)
BEst,
@velimir

Thanks @velimir, I'll definitely try my best!

My pleasure! Please check out my blog and follow me if you like my moto travel blog or my story :)
Thank you!
@velimir

Hello fellow belgian ! Welcome on Steemit !

Hi @malik.roxane!

Awesome - more Belgians on Steemit! :)

Yes ! And get ready, I am bringing some more ;-)
And I really hope to see you all soon during a meetup!

That would be cool indeed!

Welcome to Steemit
@alexindra

Thanks for the welcome!

Welcome to steemit community!

Thank you for the warm welcome!

welcome to steemit Maarten....^^

Thank you!! :)

Welcome to steemit! You will love it here

Ha, thanks! Already glad to be here :-)

Nice hope you follow
Me as i will do the same!

Welcome to Steemit Maarten! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Welcome to the community, Maarten! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57