Getting out of a town known for.. tractors I guess

I come from a small town in the South-west of England, living a pretty sheltered life, I left college, continued my part-time job working in a supermarket taking on more hours and fell into the monotony of life in a small town. Anyway, after a few months of boredom, I decided it was time to mix it up a bit, and a few months later I found myself getting off a plane in Beijing, China.  





I am 18 years old, and have just spent 4 months teaching English to some very cheeky children in China (also known as TEFL), in a town called Xiaolan, Zhongshan, in Guangdong province (VERY southern China). A couple hours from the coast, in 100% humidity, with baking heat one minute and thunder and rainstorm the next, scams every other turn, but the most generous and delightful people you’ll ever meet everywhere else. 



After my time in China I spent a few days in Hong Kong (how could I not, being so close), what a crazy place! And I am now in Johannesburg, South Africa for a few months. My name is Jessica, and its lovely to meet all of you! I can’t wait to share some funny stories with you all, and to hear from all of you. Thank you for having me!      

Sort:  

Upvoted you

That's getting out of Dodge in a big way! Sounds like a great adventure (and they look like great kids to teach). So for someone who's never been to mainland China, what kind of scams do they try on you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58