Hello From Bangkok - Businessperson & Student of the Blockchain

Hello community! My name is J, student of DLT and blockchain technology and an avid fan of business and finance based out of Bangkok, Thailand. Born in the jungles of Borneo and raised in Canada, I spent most of my adult life meandering about between Japan and Thailand working on a sundry of business projects - many of which failed but I chalk down as education and experience. I am currently a partner at a pharma company based out of Bangkok, and on the side engage in some business matching - connecting engineers and governments together for power substation projects in South East Asia. I see plenty of opportunity in implementing blockchain technology in South East Asia, being that it is still relatively less promulgated here, and have been exploring a few blockchain-based business ideas which I intend to try my hand at in Q1-Q2 of 2018.

This is the first social media platform I have ever posted on and it looks rather promising. The concept of sharing new ideas and experiences with complete strangers on the internet is still relatively new to me, but interesting, nevertheless, for many reasons.

Regarding the blockchain, I have zero interest in cryptocurrency speculation, fixing to get rich quick. I understand there are monstrous gains being realized daily, but those gains will have to be had without me. If I were to buy a cryptocurrency, it would be one that I would have intention of using. MCO, for instance, currency of the Monaco card, a crypto-based borderless credit card I intend to regularly use when I travel - is one that I wouldn't mind owning.

More important than cryptos, however, I see tremendous value in the underlying technology, the blockchain, and its applications in areas other than finance. South East Asia is a manufacturing hub, and blockchain technology could add immense value and transparency to the supply chain - currently my primary area of focus. I am by no means an experienced developer, but I do dabble around a little bit creating Dapps, with the help of others - all ethereum blockchain based, and will share if I come across anything of value.

I keep a diary of goals, findings, and experiences at asia-trade-diary.com, and will continue to do throughout 2018. 2017 has been a transitional year for me - many changes, reflection, and slowly moving forward in a different direction. I anticipate 2018 will be a year of feverous work and study, toiling about in the office until late hours, ensuring seeds planted in 2017 bear fruit. I look forward to doing that and will compile a more complete list of goals to pursue next year shortly.

In the meantime, I will familiarize myself with this new platform and eavesdrop in on other conversations, blogs, and postings.

Enjoy the balance of 2017.

emq-mugendai.JPG
Happy New Year from Bangkok

Sort:  

welcome to steemit

You sound like a well educated individual @pikachu12345, welcome to steemit! I feel the same way you do regarding blockchain and its undeniable future. Best of luck from Canada my friend. Make sure you don't over think things, take risks, its more fun that way :)

Welcome to our Community. I have visited Bangkok once. I use to live in Indonesia.

I too believe in the blockchain technology. It will fun to see how this tech will be used in our daily lives. upvoted

Great start J! Im new on steemit as well! Share more content and I will follow your work! Sounds very exciting! Follow back and see my work as well:) ✌️

alt text

Congratulations @pikachu12345, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31