Introducing myself

Hello Steemit!

My nickname is Pickletime, I'm from Budapest, Hungary and I'm lucky enough to work full time as a crypto-journalist for a local website. A little more than a year ago my only knowledge of Bitcoin was that it exists. Since then I learned so many things and met so many great people. You never know where you will end up!

Anyway, I'm a history buff and a political junkie so I'm planning to vent here on Steemit about my favorite topics: Cold War, current events, geopolitics. Plus my English is getting rusty, so I need a place to practice. Nowadays I read a lot about the political economy, world trade, and stock markets, so I might further explore those in my writings.

I'm passionate about football, I'm totally hyped for the coming World Cup 2018. I also do art, like urban sketching.

I'm glad to be here with you guys. I hope that you will find my writings valuable and worthy of your time.

20150902_175456.jpg

Sort:  

Hello pickletime! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hey Pickletime ! Welcome to Steemit ! Thanks for sharing your intro post!

Welcome, pickletime! Best wishes for a very prosper journey here in this awesome community :) Best Regards

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hey man so great!! I used to live in Budapest for more than 2 years. My girfriend is hungarian and we just left hungary 2 months ago! . Small world, welcome to steemit. Seems with your knowledge about crypto youll be able to contribute a lot to this community..

wishing you the best brother. Szia!
Sam

Appreciate it! I guess Mexico is not so bad either :)

it's pretty nice here ;) :)))

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!
I will be posting an article on how steemit works soon so follow along as it may be quite useful to you!

Your pic shows that you are hardworking and motivational guy. I am happy to see you. Nice intro..I and all steemit community warmly welcome you at this stage. You joined a unique platform. Work hard .. our support is always with you. Best of luck dear @pickletime

Your introduction is very nice. Welcome to steemit. Have a great time here!upvoted and following you now!

Welcome to Steemit @pickletime
For your kind information keep safe your master password.
For cryptocurrency news follow @jyotirmay & Do Upvote.

Super happy I can be one of the first to welcome you to Steemit & give you one of your 1st "UPVOTES." The community here has been wonderful since I began and I'm sure you'll find the same hospitality.

Here's a sample post I just put up a few days ago you can look at, to get an idea. It's still live so if you "UPVOTE" it, you'll get a piece of the curation (means you'll get a piece of money, amount shown in the post):
How Completing Thoughts Leads to Success <------- Click

I look forward to reading your posts, pleasure meeting you and hope you stay in touch. Welcome to Steemit!

Keep in Touch: @stewsak

Welcome to the family brother!

hope you enjoy your stay!

if your interested in fitness your more than welcome to follow me!

Cant wait for world cup too ;lD!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74