Introducing Photography-101 - Tips And Tutotials For Photographers


Photography-101 For Photography Tutorials And Tips On Steemit


Why Photography-101? It's a place for all things relating to photography education – whether it's about using cameras, art theory, the use of editing software, dipping your toes into stock photography, or even copyright issues and the correct usage of photography in a professional blog! The use of photography is crucial to successful Steemit posts, whether or not your post is photography related. A post without a photograph or some kind of graphic is rarely read!


Introducing photography-101.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraCanon EOS 5D
LensEF100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Exposure1/125 sec; f/11; ISO 100
Post-processingAdobe® Photoshop CC 2017 and Adobe® Camera Raw

My image is available for licensing on Getty Images here.


A few months ago I opened this account because I wanted a means of keeping track of my Photography-101 tutorials, but since then the idea of Photography-101 has grown in my mind. Why not have a place for beginners and professionals alike where all things relating to photography education are together?

A long time ago when I was a struggling new photographer, I learned from very wise professionals that even seasoned pros attending a seminar or workshop will walk away learning at least one new thing! I was trained never to look down on a workshop or lecture because I thought I knew everything about that subject matter! So that is the attitude I have had towards photography and the business of it ever since. Learning about photography is a lifetime experience!

NO ONE KNOWS EVERYTHING THERE IS TO KNOW ABOUT PHOTOGRAPHY!

Since joining Steemit with my primary account seven months ago, I have learned a lot from both amateurs and professionals on here. Sometimes it has been about a particular software being used, sometimes about a technique or equipment, but always I have been thrilled to learn something new. So, even if you are a seasoned professional or advanced amateur, I hope you will Upvote, Follow and Resteem the Photography-101 posts if you enjoy them, and that you will drop in with your advice to others and myself on my posts. Steemit is all about sharing, and it has always given me great pleasure to share what I know about photography. This is the ideal place for it! I do have a wealth of experience that I am willing to share if you want it.


So, what are my qualifications for providing this service? Do I need qualifications? Not necessarily so! However, I want you to be confident in the knowledge that this is not going to be an account where information is copied and pasted from the web to be shared, but an account where my personal EXPERIENCES AND KNOWLEDGE ABOUT PHOTOGRAPHY are shared!

Rather than write a long-winded post about these things, I'm providing you with a list of my qualifications and experience. Please feel free to ask questions about any area that interests you, and also please suggest topics that you would like to see Photography-101 cover in the future! I welcome your input!

  1. Passion for photography and sharing my knowledge (could be the most important qualification right here!)
  2. Had my first camera when I was 8 years old!
  3. Followed several careers, always being passionate about photography as a hobby.
  4. Graduated in 1994 with a diploma in photography from Southeastern Center For The Arts (now The Creative Circus) in Atlanta Georgia.
  5. Freelanced in Atlanta doing commercial work (sometimes with a Sinar 4x5 camera) before relocating to Florida in 1995, and finding it difficult to break into the commercial field here.
  6. Worked as a staff photographer for two years from 1996 – 1998 shooting transparencies in 35mm, 4x5 and medium format for Superstock stock agency, where I learned about the stock photography business firsthand as an insider.
  7. In 1998 I left Superstock and collaborated with an agency that no longer exists as a stock photography business (Eyewire, which was formerly Adobe® Studios) to create RF CDs of images. As happens in the stock business, those images eventually became part of the Getty Images Collection on Photodisc, which Getty had also bought. It's interesting to note that Adobe® has now come full circle – getting back into the stock photography business via its agency Fotolia (Adobe® Stock.)
  8. 1998 – the present. For many years I shot only for Getty Images, then branched out to also submit to the UK agency, Alamy. It is only in the last couple of years that I have experimented with the microstock agencies like iStock, Shutterstock, Fotolia (Adobe®), Dreamstime, Depositphotos etc.
  9. I opened a portrait photography studio and ran it for a couple of years at the beginning of this century. I specialized mostly in creating large digitally painted portraits created in Corel Painter from my own photography work. I photographed a few weddings, but I did not enjoy the amount of post wedding work that consumed days and days of my time! Dealing directly with clients was just not for me, so when the lease ran out on my studio, I was glad to be able to commit full time once more to shooting stock!
  10. My work has been published thousands of times in magazines and books and also on billboards, greeting cards and all kinds of merchandise, as well as having been used in commercial advertising.
  11. I also sell art prints and merchandise via Fineartamerica (Pixels.com), Redbubble and Zazzle, and offer some fabric and paper designs via Spoonflower.

I am looking forward to launching some tutorials, but will also make posts with some quick tips too. I hope you will join me in this photographic adventure here on Steemit! I will be using the tag #photography-101. Please note the hyphen, as in the future I will be setting up contests and challenges using the tag. (In the past I had used photography101 on my main account,) not realizing that it had been used before I started using it. So #photography-101 it is going forward!


Welcome to Photography-101!

welcome.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 5S


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 7 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks for finding me here and Resteeming! :-) I'm afraid my vote here is not worth much yet. :-)

Love that you are doing this, my friend! Upped and resteemed! Lets get the word out!

Thanks, dear friend! :-) I hope to post some helpful stuff in the upcoming weeks!

Thanks so much for inviting me to check out your Photography - 101 tutorial introduction. I will be very interested to learn more and will follow your very informative blogs on the subject of photography. I must follow you in fineartamerica also as I enjoy my involvement there to. Upvoting and resteeming to get the word out @dmcamera

Glad you found me here too. I have been a bit slack on FAA recently. In fact since joining Steemit, everything else has been on hold. LOL!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 0.94% vote... I was summoned by @dmcamera! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Thanks @sneaky-ninja! I needed that little boost! :-)

wow ...thats very helpful ...hope u will come up with more article about photography ..lets work together...

If you check my blog, you will see some of the posts I have already written from my main account. I hope they will be of help!

Thank you!

Welcome to the platform photography-101! Explore and enjoy it :)

Thanks! This is a second account specifically for photography education, so I'm familiar with the platform.

Welcome. :)

Thanks! I hope you will stop by to read my posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63