Been Writing All My Life, Never Made $4,000 From A Single Piece

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I don't know. I'm here late, I guess, but not really. I saw another community like this fail two years ago, so I was right to be cautious. I watched a few videos to learn how Steemit works. I think it's awesome, and should put an end to Reddit and a few others eventually -- why would people bother going elsewhere?

However, I've got some ++1,000,000 words in print at this point. No joke. I started writing fiction at an early age. Not until the last few years did I decide to do "commerical writing." But some of the payments I see for photos of foreign countries or pretty girls... well, that's crazy to me, and a bit disturbing. I thought $20 for 500 words was a more than fair deal in 2014, by comparison it truly was, and I think it's sad how many very competent writers never even made a decent living before Steem.

Since I became interested in Bitcoin I've sort of developed a reputation as a no-nonsense reporter who will quickly hang even his own interview subjects if they appear to be trying to pervert the mission, or scam, or be dishonest. You see, in 2010 I was given a retirement early in my life, because I was injured badly, and so everything I have done since then has really been by choice. Therefore when I took the first writing job, I really just wanted to help other civilians discover Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies in general. Over time this turned into a serious career, and now I receive more e-mails than I can answer as regards the market, especially at this point in time, but also when I began.

All this being the case, I'll just say that hello, I'm P. H. Madore, I write for the actual best-ranked community news website (one of the few not held entirely by a certain conglomerate which is attempting to devour the entirety of the Bitcoin culture -- but also one of the oldest in the space with over 7,000 people viewing the site, right now, at 11pm) for Cryptocurrency, especially if you consider employee opinion (find anyone who has ever tried to work for CT and ask of their experience), and I have been mostly involved in evaluating ICOs and Ethereum craziness over the past months, for okay pay, but Hacked.com is a subscription site, and then I see people posting my articles here and fucking making more than my average Steem post makes, and I'm like, REALLY? IS THAT WHY SUCH A TECHNOLOGY WAS DEVELOPED?

And so it's my Friday night, and so I've learned a bit how Steem works, and so I see it will never really pan out for me advancing my career much further than it has gotten, but if I am to represent it hopefully they will get with Creativechain or someone and find a way to prevent plagiarism, which is immoral forgetting about the legality of it.

Sort:  

Welcome and good luck! You've made a good decision joining us!

someone created a cool bot that post links when they find plagiarism, I watch out for it and don't upvote anything that the bot has flagged

This is positive. The developers should be compensated, the tech should be integrated into the platform. I've never been more offended than seeing someone make more off my own work than I did, without first purchasing it from me. If the guy had bought it from the copyright owner, at least, which is not me, I would have been okay with it. But he didn't, and it's ongoing, and I'm really perturbed about it. Ultimately I don't own the copyright, but if the person I sell to can profit and then some random can profit, and I only get my first payment, I feel that such a system will collapse under its own weight after a certain point, regardless of my own situation -- I don't really need the money, in the end, in the big picture, so I am unmotivated to take serious action to hasten such a collapse, but someone else will be the exact opposite of me and make that their life mission, and then we all have to learn some new damned platform!

I think you underestimate the strong community Steemit build within the first year. These people pull so many strings in the background to make this community thrive, we never really see that without going deep. I see this as the strongest part of Steemit: People supporting each other and starting to show some real interest into what is going on with the platform and other users,

Welcome to Steem @phmadore I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @phmadore! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @phmadore and welcome. Your writing skills will be very useful here and I look forward to reading more posts from you. We need followers here to succeed and here is my sharing on followers.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@positivesteem/steemit-success-celebrating-my-700-followers-milestone-my-in-depth-sharing-on-the-who-why-how-where-and-when-of-followers-and-a

Welcome to Steemit! I know you will really like it here, and I look forward to reading more of your posts. We're glad you've joined us.

Welcome to Steemit @phmadore!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

welcome @Phmadore to Steemit :) . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Welcome to steemit. followed n upvoted

welcome and enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51