My official introduction post, a Rural Canadian Silver Collector, and my application to join Team Australia.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I guess it’s better late than never to properly introduce myself here on Steemit. It’s probably better I waited since I was so confused and overwhelmed my first few weeks around here anyway. I’d suggest anyone just starting out on steemit to stick with it; things start to make sense in a few weeks. Start follow content that you’re interested in, comment a lot and start making some connections; everyone is so friendly and helpful. There are lots of communities for every interest and finding #steemsilvergold is what really helped everything to start making sense for me. From there I learned about the #teamaustralia community which is quite organized, very helpful and fun.

IMG_4208.JPG

My name is Phil, and the account name is Pheli Mint since that’s a small business I run with my best friend Eli. Pheli is just Phil and Eli mashed together, there’s a story behind it you can read on our website. We are silver stackers and collectors, we started to focus our collection and passion on unique privately minted bullion, but were discouraged that the community was so scattered. We were constantly stumbling across different mints and products and having a hard time figuring out where to buy them or the story behind the products. That’s we’re we fit in the picture; we want to promote the private minted silver community and help raise awareness. We also wanted to design and make some beautiful silver rounds. Feel free to check out our site to learn more and see our products, you can read more about us and our story in silver collecting here. PS we are also interested in accepting STEEM/SBD as payment for any products listed, just reach out to us via email.

A little more about myself, I live in Canada, in rural northern Ontario. I really enjoy the rural lifestyle we’ve raised chickens, I grow hearty fruit trees including apples, pears, cherries and plums. We have a large garden and berry patch and one day hope to have more livestock and live in a more sustainable manner. I work in the city as a nurse at the hospital, it’s a great job and fulfilling work, I try to always bring a positive attitude which annoys everyone else sometimes. My real passion in my family, my wife Sarah and I have two young children our Son, Kelly is 3, and our daughter Andi is almost 2. We hope have more in the future as well.

Most of my steemit posts will be related to some of the hobbies and interests above. I am starting to become very interested in crypto currencies since joining here as well. Steemit has also reignited an interest in writing as well so I will certainly try to incorporate that at times as well. Make sure to check out mine and well as everyone else’s fun steemlords stories going on right now.

I also want this post to be my official application to join #Teamaustralia here on Steemit. They have been so much fun and so friendly since joining the steemlords quest. They are all about community and supporting each other and I would love to be involved in such a supportive community. I used to be very involved with couch surfing (until we had the babies and my wife has since forbid it) and loved the idea of being able to share within a community like that. I know I’m not Australian, but we have the same queen on the currency and historically both from the same monarchy so hopefully that helps. Interestingly I even had an Australia working holiday Visa a few years back and had applied for my Australia nursing licence, but never ended up going through with my plans to spend time there. (I met a girl (not my current wife) and decided to stay put, here in Canada – I would strongly recommend not doing that and travelling and exploring while you can).

I also have a fun fact to submit with my teamaustralia application. Many years ago I decided I wanted to be a professional bull rider. I went to rodeo school and got my Ontario Rodeo Association membership. I competed at maybe half a dozen events, never really figured it out and got roughed up a bit before I came to my senses and gave up my rodeo career. But it makes a great a fun fact and used to be a great pick up line.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :D

Have a nice day.

Welcome to Steem Community @phelimint! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi Phil!

I think it's awesome that you have got your shit together enough to start minting silver rounds -- dude! You're my hero!

I've been talking about this for years with one of my bros, but we've never actually got it done. So hats off to you man! I will do a little digging, but the face in your post looks very well considered.

The rodeo stuff is just wild-ass! I don't even know what to say ...

Keep on stacking Phil! And posting in ssg... this place has turned me into a full-on Ag predator!

Cheers! from @thedamus

Thx man, it's pretty exciting for us too. We have so many more cool does we want to get to eventually too. It's been an uphill battle, but lots of fun. If you even want we're more than willing to let know the full process and everything. If your serious we would love to help you. just send us and email through the site and we can discuss more. Thanks for all your support around here as well.

Okay great! I'm going to mention you guys to my partner... maybe get this thing going finally. We already have the artwork/logo, so that's one side designed already...

Still haven't checked out your site but will asap.

Cheers! Phil

❤️

Welcome to Steem @phelimint I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Great intro and i love the display behind you, some of them coins need a closer look. I will have to get a pheli mint round in my stack at some point, ive such a big shopping list lol but you do some fantastic pieces.

Yeah I'll definitely have to show off the display case one day! It's mostly RCM stuff I paid way too much for.

Thx man, it was about time.

Thx man. Better late than never eh!

Eh ya, I did the same thing. Totally forgot lol

Welcome to Steemit,I'm in Calgary. I hear we have bull riders here in July but I try to take vacation and leave town during the Stampede. Your silver collecting sounds interesting so I followed you

Thx man, if your not collecting silver it's good to consider starting a little stack even if it's just generics for weight. I'll have a bit of a why people stack post next week hopefully.

Welcome to Steemit. Great post with a story or two and some aspirations. I live in Australia but not sure that having the same monarch allows me in - I come from the home of said monarch. She is not always flavour of the month.

Yeah, wasn't sure if it would help or hinder my application.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61168.42
ETH 2363.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58