Hello Steemit World! Introductory post from the land down under :)

Good morning to the Steemit community!

Having only joined Steemit 2 days ago and despite it being past midnight (!!) in Australia, I was so encouraged by how welcoming and friendly everyone is on here that I had to submit my first post! 

I'm still new to all this so apologies in advance if my first few posts are a bit rough :) 

About me...

I'm pretty camera shy so I don't have too many pictures of myself but in the spirit of Steemit here I am in one of the most picturesque parks we have in my hometown 


I'm from Australia (as you can probably guess from the title)...can anyone guess where? (Hint: see picture below, a pretty iconic view ;)...yes that is an outdoor cinema screen in front of the harbour!!) 


I'm lucky enough to be surrounded by beautiful beaches and coastlines so getting views like the one below is not  uncommon at all...


I love travelling and wish I could do it more often but I'm lucky enough to have been to some pretty nice places with some amazing views...some of these include 

New Zealand - 

Bora Bora - 


Above all else though - my passion is FOOD! I live, breathe and (of course) EAT food. I love trying different kinds of food from different cultures, I'm a firm believer in quality produce and ingredients over quality but am just as happy eating at a hole-in-the-wall as I am at a fine dining establishment!

For my first post I just wanted to give you guys a glimpse into a breakfast phenomenon that seems to have struck Australia over the past few years...avocado on toast. 

It may sound simple but you cannot walk into a cafe in Sydney, Melbourne or any major city without seeing some form of avocado toast on the menu. It can be as simple as literally avocado on toast OR...a couple of these exciting combinations I tried recently..

This was at a local cafe - thick-cut sourdough toast, smashed avocado, poached egg, oven roasted tomatoes topped with a sprinkle of paprika and cracked black pepper.

Another variation...

This one is again on sourdough toast (freshly made on-site at this boulangerie), feta cheese, smashed avocado and sun dried cherry tomatoes. 

If you have to ask - they were both DELICIOUS!! You really cannot go wrong with a simple avocado on toast but it is next level when you start adding other ingredients such as warm poached egg, the sweet and juicyness of cherry tomatoes, bit of saltyness from feta cheese and even just a drizzle of olive oil, all of these combine to make a heavenly breakfast, lunch, dinner or snack! 

ANYWAY - probably enough about me for one post (meant to have been an introduction too!). 

Hope you guys enjoyed reading, stay tuned for more posts...especially if you like food!! Visited a special brunch place recently with a focus on fresh seafood (lobster for breakfast anyone?) 

Catch you guys later :) xx 


Sort:  

welcome to steemit, glad to have you join us
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Hello @phamished ! I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt! Nice pics!

Thank you @igor-steem! We have similar profile pictures except yours is a dolphin haha

Really, very similar pictures :-)

Welcome to Steem @phamished I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey thank you! Much appreciated mcbotface:) cool name hah

Welcome to steemit! :) I hope you'll like it here! Avocado toast is one of the best food inventions in my opinion, I cannot get enough of them!

Haha it definitely is. I can eat it everyday for breakfast and still not be sick of it!


Welcome. You are sweet like me. @flauschi

Haha cute pic. Thanks!!

Hello @phamished
Welcome TO Steemit and #esteem
Thank you good friends to meet you.
The best and amazing
Nice to Meet You All #steemians
My name is @mahrizal I came from the National Liberation Front of Sumatra (ASNLF)
I Say Welcome And Happy For You Here #steemit or #eSteem.
Vote @ good-karma As Our Witness.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @mahrizal
I would like to express my gratitude.

welcome, bienvenida , exitos :D

Hi Phamished, welcome to the Steem community! I have promoted your post :D

Thanks dear friend!! Much appreciated :)

Welcome to SteemIt! I'm also camera shy as well, looking forward to seeing you share more of your food creations.

Hey there! Thank you very much for the welcome and the reply. Haha yeah I'm not a huge fan of the camera but I understand it's an important part of building honesty and integrity on steemit so I bit the bullet!

Yes I'll definitely be sharing more food creations so stay tuned :) xx

Ps can see you are a fellow foodie so followed you also :)

Very much enjoyed your posted @phamished . The last bit made me quite hungry XD.

Welcome to Steemit, I look forward to your future posts.

Thanks @alesserivy !! I really appreciate your comment. Haha it made me hungry typing it as well! Glad you enjoyed my post and I'll definitely be posting more of my food adventures so stay tuned and thanks again for your support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.95
ETH 2351.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47