Hello Steemit, I would like to introduce myself.

Hello Steemit Community,
This is my first time blogging or writing anything for public consumption for that matter. Aside from Facebook this is my first entry into the social media field. It is really intimidating to face a blank page but here goes. IMG_4939.jpg

My name is Peter, I am 69 years old and live in South Africa. That statement in itself raises all types of images, white South Africans, Apaartheid, racial tensions etc. In my posts I will be touching on that, who can live in a country with our history and not be affected by the past I also want to show other sides of our community, daily life, hopes, fears, the beauty of the countryside, and our wonderful animal life.

I think that all of us have interesting stories to tell, unique experiences and our own particular ways of looking at life. Our experiences in childhood, upbringing and interactions with friends and family mold us into what we are.

I am retired, happily married for the last 49 years and am the proud parent of three children.

I am attaching some photographs to this post which will show some of my surroundings and Titan Road House2.JPG
interests. The house above is where my wife and I stay with my daughter, son-in-law and three children.
MVC-287S.JPG
This is a wildlife reserve about 50Km from where I live.

Please forgive me for the below average photos, I am not a photographer but only a point and click person.MVC-294S.JPG

MVC-371S.JPGMvc-717f.jpg

I enjoy relaxing with good friends, interesting conversation and sitting down with a good book.
S5000054.JPG

My interest in books led to me becoming a book seller once I retired. Today alas, the bookshop is no more. I do however continue with my interest online. I have found that as one gets older you need to do something to keep your mind occupied. I don't think I will ever really retire but probably just slow down until I fall over one day.
S5000277.JPG

I am interested in our local history and try to get involved with local historical societies. I love history, I call myself a fan of history much the same as Dan Carlin whose podcasts I avidly follow.
4B0FCFC1.jpg

I hope this has proved interesting as an introduction. If you have read to the end, thank you for taking the time.

Sort:  

A very warm welcome to Steem sir @petruska13. Interesting pictures. I recently visited south africa and it was an absolutely memorable trip. I was mainly in cape town and was amazed the beauty of that place :)

I was born in Cape Town so have very fond memories of my youth there. Thanks for commenting and visit again:)

Sure, I would love to visit again :)

Nice post ! Welcome its a pleasure! Continue doing good post.
welcometo.gif Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES by @hien-tran
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Thank you, I will definitely have a look.

Welcome to Steemit....at last!!! :D

Lots still to learn, in the days ahead I will be picking you brain,

By all means :)

Welcome ti steemit

Thank you for reading my introduction :)

Welcome to Steemit! Enjoy it and feel free to reach out should you need any help!

Thanks Alina. First we check and see if we can handle it. If needed we will.

Thanks so much!

Great story and introduction Peter! Wish you a good time ahead and who knows? Maybe some day i buy a book in your store ;). Wish you good times and health ahead for you and family, Marius / Munich

Thank you Marius. A warm welcome from South Africa!

Appreciate your thoughts and kind message Peter - Great and best wishes from Munich 2U2.

Welcome to Steem @petruska13 I have sent you a tip

Thank you so much.

Welcome toto steemit Peter, i hope you'll enjoy it as I do :)

It's a new concept for me but so far I am really enjoying the interaction. :)

Welcome to the community @petruska :)

Thank you so much!

Welcome Peter. God bless you!

Thank you and may He bless you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51