Hello from Poland!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello everyone! I'm Pete, I'm in my mid-20s and I'm from the region of Lower Silesia in the southwestern corner of Poland. I enjoy hiking in the mountains and taking pictures of the beautiful scenery. I am by no means a professional photographer, but nevertheless, I'd like to share some photos showcasing the beauty of my home region, as well as other places I have visited in Europe.

Here's a couple photos I took 2 years ago. The first one is Śnieżka (or Sněžka, as it is called in Czech). It is the highest peak of the Sudetes, a mountain range located on the border between Poland and Czechia. Its elevation of 1,603 m (5,259 ft) above sea level may not seem like a lot compared to Alpine peaks, but it has the chilly, windy climate of much higher mountains. The UFO-shaped building on top was finished in the 1970s and houses a restaurant and a weather station. It was highly controversial at first, but now, it is considered iconic and no one in the area could imagine the top of the mountain without it!

20160226_152441.jpg

The plateau surrounding the mountain looks like a snowy desert in the winter!

20160226_124925.jpg

20160226_124954.jpg

That's it from me for now. Looking forward to becoming part of the community! Have a nice day, everyone.

Sort:  

What a beautiful place, can't wait to see more photos! Welcome to steemit! Follow me @serenadanielle

Thanks for your welcome! More photos are definitely coming.

Wonderful pictures! I should go hiking again :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99