Introducing myself, pentatonicscale

Hello everybody! I am a music educator living in Japan, teaching at an international school. I have been here my whole adult life and love both my job and my adopted country. My specialties in music are pipe organ, flute, and choral conducting. My favorite type of music is probably Renaissance a cappella music, but I like pretty much anything! My name pentatonicscale comes from the fact that in music education and also in folk music, the pentatonic scale is used. I love the sounds of various pentatonic scales.

Besides music, I enjoy animals in general and cats in particular, and yes, I have one. As an adult, I have had up to one dog and six cats at a time but am currently (and sadly) down to one cat. I take care of other people's pets when they go away if I happen to be around.

My next long-term hobby is linguistics and learning languages. I am fairly fluent in Japanese and can read several other languages, and enjoy making historical linguistic observations and studying etymologies. Japanese is probably the hardest language I have ever learned. As a person who enjoys language, I also enjoy writing and have been on several other online writing sites with the same name I have here. I look forward to adding content at Steemit!

Living in Japan, I have also become interested in earthquakes, especially earthquake forecasting. I learned of steemit through the earthquake forecaster who just joined this site with the username sincedutch. I am also interested in rocks and their origins (it makes for something to collect that is free) and have a few rockhound elementary students with whom I share this interest! My students are always interested, excited and amazed when they learn that their music teacher is interested in earthquakes, volcanoes, and rocks!

I will certainly be around in the near future with posts about those things that interest me. Watch for cat pictures, linguistic and cultural observations, geology and seismology, education and music! Nice to meet you. I look forward to reading other posts here!Jona Paulette.JPG

Sort:  

welcome to steemit :) @pentatonicscale

Thank you! I'm learning my way around!

Welcome to Steemit @pentatonicscale the cats are cute and we look forward to your posts.

Welcome @pentatonicscale to steemit... the challenge is on!

Thanks, I'm kind of wandering around trying to see what others have written. Finally found the upvote button and the resteem button (not sure what that does but I'm sure it's important and I already found a couple worthy and interesting posts).

Welcome to steemit, to you and your cute cats! >^.^<

I look forward to whatever you may post here, about music, cats, rocks or earthquakes! Don't worry too much about learning everything here, it takes a long time to really understand how everything works. But just enjoy posting and interacting with the nice people here and that should make you happy! :-)

Thank you! In the past couple of days I feel like I am getting my online writing engine revved up again. It's fun.

Welcome. My son (@cmp2020) is a music student, so I'll be sure to tell him to watch for your posts.

What does your son study in music?

He's got his hands full. ; -) His main instrument is piano. He's also studying music theory in hopes of becoming a professional composer after college. He also takes French horn and voice lessons, and plays mellophone in the high school marching band.

I'm a composer too. I write for flute ensemble and children's choir (my good stuff), have written three musicals for children. I sell most of my work on smppress.

I've developed a new appreciation for composition from watching him work at it. It is a rare skill. I'll mention smppress to him. I had not heard of that site before. It looks like a great resource. Thanks for the tip!

Welcome to Steemit...

Welcome, @pentatonicscale! You'll figure it out quickly. Have a great time here!

welcome to Steemit @pentatonicscale ..... have fun**

Welcome :)


One of my favorite groups! Welcome aboard!

I see what you did there! We just watched a video in high school choir about their rehearsals. They are amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84