Introduction - my values and strategy for SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I joined Steemit about a week ago and wanted to get a feel for it before introducing myself. Given the amount of commenting I've been doing on posts, there's a chance that may already have crossed paths.

I have a purpose for being here. I care a great deal about the challenges that face society and try to understand the root causes and potential solutions, and I want to help develop a community of people who want to see positive change come about.

Statement of Values,

  1. Fairness
  2. Community / Society
  3. Making a difference / developing others

I've spent the last few years learning as much as I can about the money system and how it's at the root of major challenges like unemployment, poverty, financial crises, diminishing access to healthcare and education, inequality growth and unaffordable housing. Once you understand how the system works, it becomes easy to identify pragmatic solutions. Ridiculously easy! Homelessness if more complex.

Besides economics, I'm interested in things like permaculture, politics, energy, human rights (especially human trafficking) and the work of charities and NGO's in general, so you'll probably see me in your comments section if you have good content relating to those areas.

Strategy

I'm doing whatever I can to build up SP so that I can reward people who make worthy contributions to the community. That means either original content in your posts or comments that demonstrate that you've consumed the content in the posts (if you take a look at the comments I've been making this week, you'll see that I walk the talk).

I'll use as much of my SBD as possible to pay for bot upvotes so that you get rewarded for curation. If you're an active member of my community, I may even pay for bots on your posts.

My upvotes may not be worth anything now, but with your good advice, that will soon change. Your help will be greatly appreciated!

Let's start interacting.

Sort:  

I have started conversations with @davemccoy and @mudcat36 who also share a lot of similar views about how we can contribute and make a difference (not to ourselves but others here). I would encourage you to also reach out and start some of these conversations because I think your values and strategy is what we need more of here :)

How do you go about finding these people? By finding their blogs or chatting on Discord or something else?

Somehow they come into my feed, which is to say that I am probably on the lookout for people like them as much as they are looking for people like me? Probably the same way that I came across your posts :)

I hope you do well here and achieve your goals of making difference in society.

Thanks. I read a couple of your posts, upvoted them and left comments. I wish I could write like you, but I think that my training as a software engineer made me write in a very dispassionate way. My stories read more like manuals.

Thank you. I like your way of writing as it is very informative and it is clear you have good intentions.

Great introduction, it's nice to see passionate writers that are provocative with good values. The world need more strong voices in things that really matters.

I might even have a go at making a video, so you'll hear my actual voice. I can't make any guarantees about what my accent will sound like - it changes depending on which TV show I've just watched or with whom I've just spoken.

This is awesome. Likewise, I look forward to reading your posts.

Thanks. And best of luck with the house you want to build. I wanted to do that about 10 years ago, but my wife wouldn't let me. :o(

@projectdiaries, how did you manage to get so much SP? Have you been trading your SBD for STEEM somewhere?

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @penston.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Penston from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @penston to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54