Hello Steemit: A Greeting from a Californian who loves to read

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers! It’s nice to meet you!

After much dallying around Steemit for the past 2 weeks. I finally have the courage to introduce myself.

Steemit introduction
It took a few selfies to get it right lol.

Hi! I’m Peter, and I’m a 25 years young bookworm living in California.

I love pizza (inspiration for the name: peezaroni)
zucchini pizza
Delicious Homemade Zucchini Pizza

I love my flat-faced feline companion (his name is Pancake).
Pancake is an exotic shorthair cat who likes to meditate.
Don't mind him, he likes to meditate often.

And I love reading (mostly Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Self-Help).
I love books
Reading gives me joy.

Here are the basics about me:

I…
-Am the second youngest out of 8 siblings in my family
-Was taught that college was necessary for a successful life
-Received a college degree from UCI
-Don’t believe that college is a necessity
-Worked at a cubicle and resented it

I don’t have many accomplishments to name of. In fact, in terms of cryptocurrency and experience, I feel like I can’t compare to most of the Steemers here.

One thing I know is that I can only try to provide the best content that I can, benefiting the Steemit community and myself in the process. If I can make a difference in someone’s life, then that’s great! If not, well… I have to keep on learning and trying. Life’s a learning experience, and nothing worthwhile in life comes easy. The only way to improve is to take action and practice with persistence.

"Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes." -Oscar Wilde

Why am I here?

The money-earning aspect motivates me (extra money for rent and bills? Count me in!); however money isn’t always the answer to everything. My main goal is develop a voice for myself.

For most of my life, I’ve dealt with extreme shyness and self-esteem issues. I felt like my voice didn’t matter. Too many times I convinced myself that I wasn’t good enough. Too many times I didn’t choose myself. Too many times I let others dictate how I should live my life. Well, it’s time to change that. I want to be able to express myself and create my own future. Creating good value for Steemit will help me head in the right direction: towards self-awareness and self-growth. It will allow me to grow as a person (so that I can be my best self for others), be a potential inspiration for friends and family, and thrive together with the community—a win-win!

"Your life does not get better by chance. It gets better by change." - Jim Rohn

Everyone has a story.

Our experiences and personality shape who we are. No one person is completely the same. However, we all share a common thread: each of us has a story to tell.

I don’t consider myself a writer…yet. But I hope to prove to myself that I’m capable of being one.
By sticking with Steemit for the long haul, I’ll become a writer and share my story and values with the community.

The Steemit community is unique in that everyone has a voice, and anyone can add value; in other words, we all matter. No other social platform has this amazing effect to pay its user for creating and upvoting desirable content. It’s revolutionary. I’m excited to be a part of this community (everyone seems kinder and more accepting here than the other social platforms). Truly.

The Steemit community is still relatively new, and it’s growing...fast. I don’t know much about crytocurrency yet (first time discovering about it on Steemit [by chance via Amazon: Steemit101] 2 weeks ago), but I’m excited to jump on the bandwagon. It’s a prime opportunity that no one should miss.

“The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” - Chinese Proverb

May we Steem ahead and grow together as a community—be people who value the world and one another, and may we Steemit big towards a brighter future! :)

Anyway, that's it for my introduction. Thanks for reading; I truly appreciate it. Have a fantastic day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32