You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is my first post.. let me know what you think. :D

Hi Chris, it is hard for me to hear someone just starting to get panic attacks. It really is a helpless feeling.. :/ you have made really good strides in finding things to keep your mind off of those panic triggers. For me that is what I started to do. I have found that when there is a goal I have set out to achieve or a new skill or topic I want to learn, my mind is then too preoccupied to start the downward spiral of negative thinking.

I have varying forms of anxiety that range from phobias all the way to what seem like random attacks.

From a high level I have gone to therapy, changed my exercise habits, found different hobbies that I am passionate about and ultimately worked on changing my mindset about how I handle myself when I feel the anxiety creeping up. It is so hard, but you have to know that you can get through it. The fact you have served for our country and made a difference in the world for our wellbeing is something that not many people can say. It takes a tremendous amount of strength and perseverance to accomplish what you have done.

There is a quote from Bob Marley that drives me to overcome my attacks that reads, "You never know how strong you are until being strong is your only choice." I find that telling myself I can get through it even though I am not 100% convinced of it helps me and the more and more I say or think it, the more I start to believe it. I've had to fake it until I made it in a sense.

Let's for sure keep and touch and I am looking forward to helping each other out. I will be following you now.

Sort:  

"Let's for sure keep and touch and I am looking forward to helping each other out. I will be following you now."
Definitely, absolutely! Likewise :)
I appreciate the uplifting comment. It is difficult and not many ppl can relate. Still trying to find the lifestyle change, but cannot figure it out... yet. Gotta get past the fear of leaving the house, in fear that being out and about and having one, or worse driving and one triggers. That is where I am at with this whole thing. It is life changing. But that which doesn't kill you only makes you stronger. So I'm going with that for now, but I do like the Marley one also..
Have a great day!

That is so true and staying positive sometimes is very hard to maintain when the world seems to bring us down at every corner.

Feeling afraid to leave the house is something I can relate to. It is comforting to know you are safe in your own home and can readily access the phone or car to get the help you need once having an attack. I have turned to music, podcasts, and reading articles to constantly consume my brain with things to preoccupy my thoughts. It is a little scary how attached society now is to their phones, but at least for me it helps provide something to focus on so my thoughts do not zone in on negative things.

Personally, I have gotten super into mobile app games that pushes me to think strategically and it is available at all times as long as you have your phone with you. Even a mindless candy crush has helped me out of countless anxiety attacks I have had.

Ha! Candy Crush!!! Yep I've used it before to keep the mind occupied while idle... I find that down time is when the attacks happen the most. My mom (who has advanced stage dementia) has been in a 24 hr facility recovering from a fall about 2 months ago. I needlessly say, my days have been significantly quiet since then with the exception of my 3 year old. My girlfriend, (also his mom) recently got laid off, so that compounding the downtime. I don't feel stressed of her losing her job... ( I am an options trader, a good one at that). So I think the spare time to think about stuff from the military prob are starting to creep out little by little. So when she gets out, and my g/f will stop driving me nuts (lol) all should fall back into place.
I have been doing a lot of screen casting, sharing my knowledge about the markets, TA, (technical analysis) and such. I love to help others, and I have been called an earth angel not to omit I have the traits, both good and bad. that said, have a great wknd!!! going to do some laundry.
Be Well
Chris

Yes I completely agree about the down time. Well hopefully you can have everything fall back to place soon.

I actually just uploaded a video on anxiety today so be sure to check it out when you have time.

Glad everything has been going well for your knowledge sharing! Have a great weekend as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67