You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ANNOUNCE: - STEEMBOTS.COM Your Source For Everything Bot Related! - NOW HIRING

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Fascinating conversation, thanks for the post and peoples replies.

A platform like this would be an excellent way to develop bots but it could be an issue if that's not your thing, and it's probably not most peoples thing. I personally wouldn't like to see the platform crowded with bots. The argument is that it is already crowded with bot. Where there seems to be some difference in opinion is the response to this situation. Do we accept it and start building our own bots and develop a code of conduct, or do with resist it and seek to eliminate bot as best we can using something akin to antivirus software.

I think this idea of having bots up vote is more problematic. Some people will know more about bots and be more willing to use them. These people will benefit. This compels other to do the same even if they don't want to. I don't want my success on this platform to be dependant on needing to utilised bots in a clever way.

And a related point is that one of the major strengths of steemit is that it harnesses the subjective views of the users. If we have bots getting involved does it not distort this process?

With respect to bot inclusions, my preference is always that we need to opt-in rather than opt-out. As such I like the code of conduct idea such that by opting in you are allowing the bots who conform to the code of conduct to engage with you.

These are my thoughts at the moment but I'm willing to be convinced otherwise. I like the idea of learning more about bots so will check out your steembots when I get time.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74