Hi! I'm Paumiau, SysAdmin, Cryptocurrency fanatic and admin of Ecoining: the biggest Peercoin Mining Pool.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Chapter 1: How #bitcoin is changing my life and how it can change yours as well

All time High!! Do you remember? Bitcoinity.org screencap when BTC reached 1000$


Hi Steeminautics!

My name is Paumiau and I’m from Barcelona. I work as a SysAdmin for the Educational Board in one of the Spanish’ regional governments.

This is me in Prague, so happy to find a Bitcoin sticker 

Everything started in March 2013, during lunchtime. A colleague from work told me about something called #Bitcoin. At first, I didn’t understand anything:  

  • What are you talking about? You’re telling me a piece of code magically turns into money?  
  • Where does this money come from?   
  • How much does these so-called coins cost?  
  • What? 60$ !!?? Is the world crazy? (1 Bitcoin was 60$ and it seemed so expensive at the time)

I had not realized yet, but that day I was infected by a powerful virus. That night I could not sleep. I could not stop thinking about this new #cryptocoin world as I was tossing and turning in bed.

 I didn’t understand why anyone would pay to own a digital #currency

Everything seemed a very big nonsense. “Anyone who spends his #money or his time on Bitcoin must be a fool”, I thought. 

But as I told you, the virus was already inside me, and I began to feel the symptoms right away. 

The next (tired) morning I tried to find an answer to all my questions and doubts. At first, just about #Bitcoin. Soon, I was reading about:

Few days later I saw it clear. #Bitcoin and #Blockchain technology were going to be the biggest technological revolution since the #Internet. And I wanted to be part of this revolution. 

  1. After 24 hours I was already buying 60$ Bitcoins (Hooray!). 
  2. One week later, I was building my first mining rig.
  3. In a Month I opened my first mining pool. It was just a pool for a small #AltCoin which I wrongly thought was going to succeed. (It did not, but anyway, I was so proud of it.) 
  4. Fast forward 4 months, I was running the largest pools of some of the biggest #AltCoins at the time, including the third one, #Peercoin

My humble first mining rig, using some cheap plastic shelves

In just a few months (probably just days) I had become one of those fools I despised some time ago. One of those deluded people who spent #money and time on some geeky virtual thing. 

My colleague and me started to create a lot of big and small #AltCoin Pools. It was a crazy year. It was fun to discover new bizarre cryptocurrencies (SexCoin Anyone?), to speak with the developers, to create the pool, advertising it… and discussing everything with my girlfriend, who clearly thought I spent too much time in front of the computer. Sadly, she is no longer my girlfriend. 

It was a lot of work and it didn’t give a lot of #money, but it was my hobby and my revolution, so I kept trying to make a living out of this exciting new virtual world. 

Ecoining Peercoin Pool

Once the #AltCoin bubble popped and that year’s madness stopped, I decided to close all the pools and keep the one I truly believed in: the Peercoin one. I like this coin since it’s one of the few innovative ones (creating the Proof-of-Stake vs BTC’s Proof-of-Work), has a great community and to some, It’s one of the real alternatives to #Bitcoin.

Nowadays I still have not achieved my goal, I still have to work for others and can’t live only from mining cryptocurrencies, creating mining pools or trading Bitcoins, but my goal is closer than ever. Never thought a hobby would make me closer to my dreams, but here we are, keeping the good work and still amazed by the blockchain technologies.

Dear Steemit friends, we are still looking at the first steps of a great technology that will change the world to a better and fairer one. This revolution is only starting, but you have to be aware of the opportunities and businesses that can be created around it (Hello #Steem!) be attentive, and don’t miss the opportunity to participate and make a difference.

See you soon.

 

Sort:  

wellcome

Cool, This makes me want to see how I can get involved, you did a good job writing and making/gathering the pictures. I'm following you. May you have more success... :)

Thanks Luke!! I follow you too :)

Thank paumiau for ecoining, I have been a part of the site for a while now and even though I have tried others, I always come back to ecoining peercoin pool!

Thanks Cryptomind! I like your feedback :)

ecoining is a good site to mine Peercoin for sure!

Peercoin is a great coin to mine (while you still can)...

Hey handsome! Saw your post on the peercoin mining forum. Hit me up, lets talk $ :-)

Solid blog. I was about to post a similair thread. The decision to buy a coin should be based on real analysis of the coin. I found that people keep buying coins without have any knowledge of them. This is considered high risk. Personally I always use: https://www.coincheckup.com. Every single coin can be analysed here based on: the team, the product, advisors, community, the business and the business model and much more. For example: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Peercoin#analysis For a complete Peercoin Investment research report.

I have been mining at Ecoining since 2014 and I have to say Pau is one of the best admins I have had experience with he is honest and always does his best to fix issues and make things right when they go wrong. Ecoining is the #1 peercoin pool.

Cool if Ecoining showed up in the ASIC thread :) ASIC :: the mining business {a coin}{a decentralized company}{a network} https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1428251.new#new

Hi Paumiau,

just a short question: when I find a block, do I get all the coins ?
Thanks for your reply.

What was the first thing on your mind this morning?

The strength of a nation derives from the integrity of the home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51