Censorship - Why I Joined Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

the_worst_thing_about_censorship-4ea871c-intro.jpg

As we all know, it looks the the glory days of Youtube are coming to a close. I remember the first time that I realized someone could make a plentiful living from posting fun or interesting content online. I think the lack of exclusivity was the main selling point, but unfortunately things have gone downhill. The larger well established youtube channels might be stable for now, but there really isn't any visible future for newcomers. Why did it all fall apart? I believe the concept of relying 100% on advertisers wasn't a sustainable situation because of their lack of connection with the community itself. Advertisers answer to such a broad audience that the content needs to be shaved, cut, and censored to fit as many people as possible. This resulted in narrowing the variety of content that was deemed 'appropriate'. However I believe that deeming something too controvertial to be discussed can be a very dangerous thing indeed. It isn't contructive either because communication and discource are the only ways to actually solve problems. Steemit on the other hand, seems to have a very bright future ahead of itself. Having content rewarded and praised soley by the community is something that is very special and innovative. Because of this, I plan on uploading funny and interesting content on a regular basis and continuing my involvement with steemit longterm. I wanted to thank the community for being extremely friendly and supportive in my short time here so far. Let me know if you have any thoughts or opinions on this and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

The free and equal dissemination of knowledge is one of the biggest and most important reasons for steemit to exist. Information is forever immortalized on the block chain here. Nobody can censor that. It will be there for good or for bad.

Yes, I personally think thats the best way to get an unbiased perspective. Just leave all the information out there and have it readily accessible.

It's why I write about science on steemit. I want the information and trail of sources forever immortalized for all to see, for free.

Welcome @patton46. I too was disillusioned with the censorship on FB, Twitter, YT etc and from what I have picked up in the past 2 days - we are not alone. I look forward to your content - especially the 'funny' posts. With all the oppression in the world - it is nice to stop and have a laugh. Regards, SK.

Thanks a ton! I appreciate it

Welcome to the Steemit community @patton46! Your views about censorship have gained you a new follower!

Thanks! You too my friend

welcome :) love your thoughts there ;)
Enjoy your day and time here!

Thank you, you too!

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit! I too just joined and thisinternet community is second to none for most warm and welcoming. As long as you share worthwhile content with a lot of thought, you will be justly rewarded.

Thanks vangfo and welcome!

Bingo @patton46 @justtryme90 @sirknight We can hope that Steemit will continue to uphold an unscathed stream of knowledge long into the future.

Indeed, lets hope so

Well told!
Im here on Steem just for 2 days and the first thing i noticed that people so polite and supportive like nowhere else. That`s amazing! 🌎

Thank you! I'm glad you've also had a great experience

Welcome aboard! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56608.36
ETH 2976.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15