PathToMax - The Splinterland Story Ep:1 The Beginning

Hi Everyone! Here is my introduction post to an interesting experiment. The experiment is to go from rags to riches in Splinterlands. In this experiment, I will start with a basic starter set from Splinterlands and with the starting 30 cards I plan to play, trade, and post enough to earn a maxed beta set!

line29.png

I understand that this process will be a multiple month process and with that I don't plan on taking any shortcuts, I have set a few rules to this experiment to ensure it will be as authentic as a regular user in the game as possible.

  1. Funds obtained by playing, selling cards, trading dec/spt, and steem rewards from posts are the only funds that can be used in buying the cards for the max beta set. So no sending cards/or funds to ease the experiment at any moment in time.

  2. Only play about 25 or so games per day to simulate somewhat of a normal players input on the game.

  3. Do each daily quest to earn cards

  4. No renting cards

  5. Selling cards is allowed

line29.png

With those few rules in place, I have started my journey.

To start my journey and at the time of this writing, daily quests are split between the 5 basic splinters. The daily quest has an option everyday to get a new quest in case one of the quests aren't suitable with the cards. So here we really only need 4 of the basic splinters to continue and earn the daily reward cards everyday. Out of the starting set cards I decided to sell the starting Water Splinter cards as they provide the least benefit from the summoner ability as none of the starting cards have a magic attack to increase.

Screen Shot 2019-06-28 at 5.24.13 PM.png

I have listed these 5 cards on the market to sell in hopes of being able to get some cards for daily quest splinters in future days.

For day 1, I got the Earth splinter as my daily quest, and received an Exploding Dwarf as the prize.

Screen Shot 2019-06-28 at 10.22.35 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-06-28 at 5.50.57 PM.png

Will continue this journey and see how far and how long it takes me to find a full max set. Feedback on the rules and experiment are always helpful. Until next time.

-PathToMax

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Interesting.
I did such an experiment a couple of months ago. Yo can find the story on the @itisjustme blog. Maybe you'll find some useful tips in there.
That was before DEC or rokens were introduced. I wonder if the outcome will be different now we have DEC, another set of promo cards and tokens.

I've been thinking to try it our again too, just to see the difference

I've set you on autovote. My vote ain't worth a lot, but in my experience, everything counts :0)

Thanks monstermother,

I'll definitely have to check out your @itisjustme blog for those tips and tricks!

I've been wanting to do this for a while but never wanted to dive in too deep. I think this will be a fun experiment in the long run. Having some experience in the game is very helpful in my day 1/ day 1.5 progression in the game.

The DEC and SPT introduction while keeping the daily quest rewards the same have definitely made me push towards trying this as a somewhat free to play player. With so many rewards that can be exchanged to cards to eventually earn more seems like a nice little cycle for anyone to be able to keep progressing in this game!

Welcome pathtomax!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @pathtomax! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to Steem pathtomax! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome to steemit @pathtomax.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Loading...

Hello fellow Steemian,

nice to meet you here, i'm always pleased to meet new people here.
I hope you create good Blogposts in the future so that I have something to read and possibly to comment on :)

If you also like interesting posts about politics, money, economics and Crypto don't hesitate to follow my page, you won't regret it !

Kind regards

@the.libertarian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73