Hi Steemit, I'm Chrissy - An Origami Teacher & YouTuber!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4471-1.jpg

Hello Steemit!


My name is Chrissy. I am a full time YouTuber from Australia.

My partner in crime, @angusg finally persuaded me to join Steemit a few weeks ago! I've posted a couple of small test posts here, but finally this is my introduction.

A bit about my YouTube Channel:

The name of my YouTube channel is Paper Kawaii.

Mostly I teach people how to make things out of paper. Usually it's origami, but there is also some paper crafts, reviews and giveaways as well!

Over the last few years I have collected over 330,000 subscribers on Youtube plus way more on my other social platforms.

origami-steem-paper-kawaii.jpg

On a good week, I post 2-3 videos on youtube, sometimes more. Lately I've been making photo tutorials as well.

(did you see that STEEM logo in my channel? I just posted that!)

Other Stuff


My Youtube Channel started out as a wordpress blog back in 2008. At the beginning I was posting links and reviews of other people's content. I didn't really know what I was doing!

Now the blog - PaperKawaii.com gets around 4k - 5k views a day and makes a tidy income via Adsense (I might post more on running blog or making money with adsense in future here on Steemit).

Just recently I made my first eBook, called 'LEARNIGAMI' - a play on the words, 'learn' and 'origami'.

You can find my printable products including the ebook, as well as many freebies, at Shop.PaperKawaii.com.

origami-steem-paper-kawaii-01-1.jpg

Plans for Steemit


Firstly I plan to post my tutorials on Steemit, I have a feeling that photo tutorials will be more appealing than video tutorials, but I might be wrong. So I'll try to post both!

Secondly I am really interested in the whole idea behind steemit, as a full time online creator, I know first hand how we get underpaid and trodden-on by YouTube/Google, Facebook etc. I think it's time for things to change, quality content should be rewarded.

After browsing around for a few weeks, I noticed that there is not a lot of origami related content on Steemit, and not too many craft tutorials in general. I think Steemit would benefit from having more DIY/Paper Crafts content as it's a surprisingly large audience online.

So, to start off my Steemit posts, I thought creating an Origami STEEM logo would be a fun idea. Originally I planned this to be the Steemit logo, as I didn't know about the new one, but.. I don't think the new logo can be made with origami, as the shape is pretty unique (and round!).

The steem logo is a very nice shape to make with origami, anyone can make one. All you need is one sheet of square paper.

origami-steem-paper-kawaii-03.jpg

Tutorial:

I hope some of you would like to make one!

With all that said, that's it for my introduceyourself post! Bye for now!

x Chrissy

PaperKawaii.comYouTube ChannelFacebookInstagram

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :D yet another topic added to the STEEM universe - great! Maybe you will publish on @dtube soon!
Resteemed you for a little visibility ;)
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks, @welcoming :) I have uploaded one video to dtube so far, and I'll continue to add them in time!

Tub Cat welcomes another fantastic Aussie to Steemit. Your introduction post is most impressive. Tub Cat requests that you post an origami tutorial about how to make an origami bath tub.

Tub Cat is very impressed at the quality of your post. So impressed that he has pushed the little green squishy thing with an upwards pointing arrow to show his appreciation.

Tub Cat strives to encourage the production of quality content on Steemit, and has made it is mission to both reward quality content and also offer advice to new comers about how to best go about producing quality content.

Tub Cat has enjoyed your post and encourages you to keep producing such excellent content!

An origami bath tub is a cool and unique idea, thanks Tub Cat! ^-^

Welcome baby! Enjoy steemit!!

Thanks so much! <3

Welcome! Good Logo Steemit! Good Luck

Thank you for the welcome :) x

It's so beautiful to have you here on steemit. I took time to come welcome you and I know you will love it here. Welcome to our family. @greatness96

This is so cool. I love that I would never have been exposed to your work if not for Steemit. This platform is attracting fantastic people. Welcome.

Wow! Welcome to Steemit, @paperkawaii! I think no one so far has that niche of origami on Steemit, you are going to corner the market hahaha :) Seriously, I can't wait to see what you have in store for us! Have fun on here and any question just let me know!

thanks @herverisson for the welcome, I hope other arts and crafters join too :)

Nice to meet you Chrissy! Very nice art !

Thanks, I'm glad you like it :)

Hi @paperkawaii
Nice to meet you,I am also an art&craft teacher.I welcome you at steem.hope you have a good time here.
I wish you luck 👍.
Regards @Crafter

@crafter you have some really nice paper crafts on your blog, thanks for the welcome :)

Ur welcome

Welcome to steemit, looking forward to seeing you around @chessmasterhex.

thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87