An Extremely Long Overdue Introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

What took you so long!?!        


Greetings and salutations fellow friends and steemians!  I originally signed up for Steemit in August of 2016. I had recently experienced some disappointment with another open-source creative endeavor known as Devtome, which rewarded programmers, writers, artists, and other creative souls through the medium of Devcoins.  Although this was a beautiful sentiment and had the potential to change the world, in my opinion, the execution of the ideals where slightly flawed and slowly fell to the wayside.  It is still alive and going through a revitalization.

When I first joined Steemit, I was unfamiliar with the system and the inner and outer workings of posting, commenting, curating, etc.  I posted a few of my photographs and left it all to chance!  At the time, I just did not have the emotional energy to relearn a system and pour out my heart and energies to a new venture, so I became dormant and let life take me upon its journey, as it so often has the ability to do.

I am definitely back now and looking forward to jumping in with both feet.  I have been a law enforcement officer for over twenty years and I am married to my best friend.  We have one grown daughter, an intalian grey hound (Lio), and Great Dane (Sasha), and a crazy parrot (George).  I am an avid fly fisher and I love to hike, game, and travel when possible.

I hope to add so small bit of worth to this amazing community and I am greatly looking forward to the connections and relationships that will be built.  Thank you so very much for following me on this wondrous path!



Sort:  

looking forward to some more of that awesome photography I see above. I am very new to this. I love the written word as well and I am excited about the journey.

Thanks for the comment! I am so glad I am getting back around to engaging on Steemit. Gives me an excuse to get out and get some more photos...lol

You might want to consider republishing some of your work on DevTome here, Papa.

I really, really want to. I tried when I first joined, but I didn't cite the creative commons license or link the original article, so I was message by a bot thingy and it scared me for a bit...lol. Additionally, I am still struggling a bit with the syntax of creating posts on here. I like the ease of the editor, but when I insert pics by web address the appear huge to me. I just need some more trial and error. You know how un-technical I am so if I can write on DevTome, then I can figure this out lol

Although the steemit interface has its own 'Markdown' (Markup) language it seems to handle most HTML quite well. All my hyper links are straight HTML for example. This guide should be helpful to you.

Thanks for the info @novacadian The link for the guide doesn't work, so if you get a chance I would love a link to it.

The link should br fixed now. Not sure what went wrong the first time.... 😎

Got it now thanks. This syntax is different from the Devtome style, correct?

Yeah, their 'Markdown' is different, yet most standard HTML seems to work as well, which is not the case for DevTome if memory serves.

I see we joined in the same month. I also went through a dormant period but currently find it quite exciting to slowly build up a following. Looking forward to read about your adventures.

Thanks for the comment. I kick myself on a regular basis for going dormant on here..lol. I too have renewed my excitement for this platform and I'm trying my best not to become overly obsessive about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60