Why are people apologizing for having Depression?? I'm an Advocate for Mental Illness Stigma

deb.jpeg

Hi, I'm Deb and have a huge passion for writing, poetry, blogging, designing/writing inspirational and motivational quotes, writing children's books AND I also struggle with depression and PTSD (post- traumatic stress disorder) for sexual and emotional abuse.
()
Can you imagine apologizing or feeling like a burden for having a mental illness?? or depression? Would you feel the same way if someone had cancer or heart disease? Think about it.

I'm a blogger, have been since 2005 and started my blog "Living in Stigma" in 2007 to advocate and hopefully educate society on the effects of Mental Illness Stigma. I struggle with both mental illness and chronic migraines, and with news articles, social media, research and valued readers sharing comments and opinions on my blog, it’s a reality that invisible illnesses such as fibromyalgia, lupus, headaches, recurring back and leg pain, and so many more are also a vast portion of invisible illness stigma.
936414_607263945971017_233362482_n.jpg
There appears to be a link, in numerous situations, where people are also experiencing chronic pain, as well as, depression, anxiety, stress, insomnia, a connection to PTSD or feelings of suicide. They/we sit in isolation, put on a fake smile, and don’t want to feel as if we are a burden.

Mental illness is neither one’s weakness, a character flaw nor one’s fault, however, we regrettably live in a society laced with Stigma.

I not always serious! Love reading and I spend too much time on the computer and my doggie, Emma, gets pissed off at me! And, I've been married for over 38 years to a wonderful guy who puts up with my migraines and blogging research!
HPIM0260.JPG

Hope you enjoy my posts, you all appear to be an interesting and welcoming group of posters :)
Deb.

Sort:  

Welcome! I am in the mental health field, and am acutely aware of how stigma keeps people from addressing their issues. Thank you for being an advocate for others by sharing your own experiences.

Congrats, @pandablue! Nice and engaging. Very informative.

Welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86