Introduction Post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello from Pagosa Springs, Colorado!

My name is Jacob and I'll share a little about myself.

I was born in Flagstaff, Arizona. At the age of 8 my parrents moved my older brother and I to Tularosa, New Mexico.

We grew up in the desert and played in the Rio Tularosa. My father was a solid cowboy and made his two boys help on his ranch. There were about 100 or more head of cattle out on what we called the High Lonesome Ranch.

Apart from being a rancher, my father has been a professional archaeologist since the 70s. I was 16 years old when I first got work experience with archaeology. I was in the lab, cleaning artifacts for others to do analysis. By the age of 18 I was doing field work.
ResizedImage_1445722594907.jpg

Earning $12/hr as laborer and camping with my coworkings in our project area, I was away from home for 8 days at a time.

In 2013 I moved with my girlfriend to Pagosa Springs, Colorado. I continue to do archaeology occasionally, and am rewarded with traveling the Four Corners area (a beautiful region).
Pagosa2017-Caricature.jpg

At the beginning of this year (2018), we started http://PagosaNow.com, a tourism website for our beautiful town.
downtown_025.jpg

On Steemit I plan on sharing some of my hardships and adventures from 10 years of contract archaeology, traveling the Four Corners area, and I might not stop there.
Adobe_20180524_154325.jpg

Sort:  

Hello and welcome on steem, Jacob.
Archaeology is exciting. I'm following!

Im glad you're interested in archaeology, many people are, funding comes from public interest. As long as we stay intereted in archaeology cultural resource programs can continue. People lost interest in space and now we don't hear about it anymore.

Welcome, pagosa! Wish you an awesome journey here in this loving and caring community :) Have fun!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you for your comment.

Hello Jacob. welcome to steemit. I wish to give you upvote but my upvoting power is down. but I'm following you now. have a nice day

Thanks for commenting ayerz, its good to have a nice welcome. It looks like you've been on for a while, my account took a while to get approval.

Hello and welcome to Steemit. I'm still a beginner, I follow you and I hope you too will follow me, I'm glad to new acquaintances. I wish good luck in the development of your blog! Upvoted your post! ;)

Thank you veseloff. Hopefully I can write some exciting posts this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50