You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Full form headstand on a mission to the perfect handstand.

@neeqi I haven't tried that cup method I will give that a try next time. I have seen it in videos and gave it a shot once but it didn't go so well haha. I didn't know any technique to it though I just kinda put my forearms down near my head and went at it.

Definitely right about my head this wasn't actually a true headstand, you can't see it in the video but for most of it my head was slightly off the ground, and that's why I didn't get to a straight vertical at some point the head was tapping the ground but more for stability rather than being the foundation for my body.

At a little under 190lbs I need a tad more strength and a bit less weight then I should be able to push myself up into a hand stand I can push my self up once or twice as it is with a wall for support. Can't do it in a controlled way yet though, stability and balance are lacking there, but can definitely notice my mind and body making those connections to work on keeping my weight balanced. I'm confident it will come easily with continued practice.

Reps Reps Reps

Sort:  

Reps are definitely good if you want to build the strength. I think something that is also good to practice for shoulder strength is something called dolphin pose. You have your hands spread, forearms to the ground with elbows under the shoulders and you have your legs in a plank position. You then walk your feet in towards and bring your hips to the sky, kind of making a triangle shape.

Then just work on lifting your elbows off the ground at the same time and shift into a downward dog.

Then bring the elbows down at the same time back into dolphin pose.
Rep as many times as you can. It sounds simple but really helps with the engagement of the shoulders.

Nice will add that to the rotations of exercises I do. Should help my triceps get that stabilizing muscles as well that will help lift me from head to hand stand when I get stronger to finish this progression how I want to.

Sounds great. Good luck with your journey to the handstand! It's a fun one. I honestly love inversions and just being upside down. You'll have to post more of your progress. 😁

Form on the second one looks much better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39