Out of the Shadows and Into the Light

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

 Hello Steemit! So I have been thinking of posting this for a while now although I have been too shy and hesitant about it. 

About Me

I guess I should start with the topics I will be loosely sharing here, and things about myself. My name is Liam, I am 18 years old and will be posting on topics of interest, based on my internal thoughts into the mind, depression, suicide, nature of the self, some photography, maybe poetry, and others which I have not formulated yet. I also like to think up relevant creative titles!

My writing will likely be heavy and probably controversial, so are not for the faint hearted; particularly when revolving around depression and my experiences with this. I am starting being involved with @voiceshares topics and have posted there. I'm truly learning how to live without managing to die on the way. I'm open for suggestions if you have certain interests for me to write about, comment below!
 


throwback to who i used to be 


Raw Insights: An Example

Most of all though, I change. Once dear held notions of the self no longer resonate, so lost in the wilderness of life, trying to find a path. Or fuck the path. A stupid kid ingrained in a body of flesh, waiting for the next lucid dream. Wrapped up in delusions of ego. 

What I Won't Do 

Beg for followers or have a repetitive theme at the end of each post, that’s not me.                   

Make shilling Steemit posts, although I greatly appreciate the platform. 

Ignore those who comment (unless spam). If you took the time to read and comment then I will reply.

Hide behind a fake persona. True real content is what I hope to provide.

Last Thoughts

Just trying to write genuine and meaningful content while staying true to myself. Anyway, please have patience with my writing ability, introduction posts seem to be the most difficult! 

Sort:  

Hey Liam, its funny that I should read your introduction post last - I followed your poetry and landed on your profile, and read through your intervention essay, and the post on suicide.
Now, I should begin by saying that more often then not, even when we would hate to admit, we form biases in our heads for everyone - across a specific category, we label them, and form an idea of them. That's just how the human brain works - easier to function that way.

What I had recently picked up from your writing was that you're perhaps a troubled person.. perhaps with a few unanswered, dark and haunting questions that never really leave you - some of the most parasitical nature.

Honestly though, I never had you pegged for an 18 year old. I must say, when in turmoil, is when a person deserves most appreciation, love and warm comfort. I wish to be able to provide that here - but this is not just that. This is pure admiration for the way you are - the way to convey and orchestrate your writing. The way you put a world of emotions behind it and the beauty which you unleash on the reader. You're an old soul. And there's so much talent in you that you haven't even discovered yet. I hope this can be one of the places that help you discover yourself. And trust me, you'll be mesmerized. I am so inspired by you - you 18 year/old soul... you're a paradox right here. :)

Aymen,

Thanks for reading! I absolutely have biases and don't pretend not to, some of which I can't control; and which will appear in my writing.

I suppose it could be described that way, as the more you think about the idea(s), the more is presents itself in writing and life. Existential questions (and not only this) do posit some troubling answers...

How old/what kind of person did you think I was (out of curiosity)?

That probably is true, it is saddening to think of the unfilled potential of many, not only in writing, if you think of who they could eventually become.

I just try to give realistic insights into my thoughts and experiences, I think this was helped by reading teenage and adult fiction when I was very young.

Age, I don't think, necessarily implies being soulful, there are some old fools out there (or with no soul) ;)

To answer your question, I thought you'd be in your mid twenties, to say the least. I was wrong. But then by reading your work I was convinced that you're more in touch with your inner self than most people who just merely exist, day in, day out. I was right about that one. :)

And you're right! Age is often rendered immaterial if you refuse to feel...

Hey Liam, It's great that you finally be able to open up !

I'm truly learning how to live without managing to die on the way. I'm open for suggestions if you have certain interests for me to write about, comment below

Probably you could share your ways of coping. I am personally not into voiceshares, but I am going through the same journey. I am using steemit as a way to cope up too. I hope that it would help you. You're not alone Liam, Here's a recent event I've been though last week .

I am following you and I hope to read more from you !

Hello @macchiata, thank-you for taking the time to comment here on a personal subject,

I can give a brief overview here on how I cope in my case, although this may not work for you, it's just something I find helpful.

  1. Spend some time alone. With depression at least for me I have enough time for this. Now ask yourself why you are feeling this way. You may not have an answer.

  2. If you do have at least a partial answer, then try to work towards how you can get out of what you are feeling. I know it's hard. Some simple short and long term goals can be really beneficial.

  3. Check that any SSRI's or other pharmaceuticals are truly beneficial and be wary of the side effects, which can cause more harm than positives. I am not a professional obviously so don't take my word for it, I personally don't take any (which can also make things alot worse).

  4. For me at least the severity of feeling can occur in cycles although this is not always true, I usually have long periods of mild severity followed by a few days of 'hell'. Your internal biology will influence how you feel at least moderately, so accept that you will at times or perhaps a majority of the time have these thoughts and feelings. All I can say in those times to ride out the storm.

Again these may not help you but are methods I have found to be beneficial. I will take a look at what you have shared. :)

@outtayourbox, Spend some time alone, I truly spend a whole lots of time alone that sometimes I am encouraged to go out and talk to human. There are days when I come out of my little world and talk to people but there are also days I would just stay inside without wanting to go out even if I have to.

I also do not use any kind of medications because they're addictive although some people says that they could really helpful altering moods but again it's temporary. I want it to be everlasting :) but well, it's just a dream I guess.

Thank you for sharing your ways of coping :) have a great day!

Good luck & I hope you will like it here :) Small tip! for the start.

Merci beaucoup :) I have been around but haven't posted lol!

First post (not just comment) = fresh start :)

Welcome to Steem @outtayourbox I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Look who's here ^^ Outtayourbox, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Hey Liam, Welcome to the steemit community. This link should get you started https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/how-to-get-noticed-if-you-are-a-new-user-on-steemit.

Feel free to ask me any question you have. I would love to help if i can.

Would be super happy if you follow me @kingbach I follow back. We can grow together. Thank you

Congratulations @outtayourbox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello Liam,

Welcome to Steemit. I just joined about a week ago. I hope you enjoy this platform and unfold a generous abundance of support and find a community that can strengthen your capacity to explore, grow, and find freckles of happiness here and there.

I look forward to reading your poems as I am a poet too.

Enjoy the rest of the plans you have for today.

:)

Hi there, I appreciate the warm welcome! I shall take a look at your poems :)

Hello there, welcome to the platform.

Hello! thank-you for the greeting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55