Introducing myself to steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Good morning to all, my name is Seraphina. Today is my first day on steemit and I bring you probably the most genuine introductory post that you will ever come across. I am a computational biology graduate from the National University of Singapore. Because of my educational qualifications, I am skilled in planning, designing, developing, implementing, debugging and troubleshooting applications and I know several programming languages. I was also awarded the Hall of Fame for my projects in Software Engineering during my candidature with the NUS.

Currently, I am working in an institute of higher learning in Singapore. This is my third job in Singapore, not accounting those which lasted less than a month. My current position requires me to handle graduation matters and be a people-person. I am not doing programming related work currently, although I am required to perform user acceptance testing and enhancement on systems as part of my job. You will be surprised to find that I completely do not like this part of my job. However, since my current salary is 1.5 times what my previous job pays me, I do pride myself on staying on the cutting edge of being an all-rounder.

I like to travel and I go to different countries in each quarter of the year. I have been to more than 20 cities and will definitely share some posts on my travel adventures. One of the most interesting things has been meeting people in all the countries I have visited. In times of distress, you really see how tight each community becomes. From surviving the Christchurch earthquake to ascending the Victoria Peak just to get to work, this is not seen just during the times of disaster, but also in everyday life. Through my trips, I learnt that it is support that ensures success and that our responsibilities lie not just within ourselves.

For now, I thank you for getting to know me better and I look forward to knowing all of you too.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @oraclebaby I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @oraclebaby! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi, Oraclebaby, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome @oraclebaby - You mention, "ascending the Victoria Peak just to get to work." Do you mean HK?

Yes, it is in Hong Kong.

Thought so - I live in HK, but not on the Peak - way too pricey ;)

Hey @oraclebaby! Welcome to the platform :]

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Congratulations @oraclebaby! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51