Are Facebook and Twitter dead men walking ?

Hello friends from around the world.

My name is Jamie from Australia.
I don't have a Twitter account, I don't have Instagram, or Linkdin etc etc. I do have a Facebook account and in the decade I've had Facebook I have never made a single post on it mainly because I don't trust it and where the information ends up (CIA databases). The main person who benefits from Facebook is a man who's surname starts with Z.

So here I am, seeing something new on the blockchain and I like what I see. I get the feeling that Youtube, Facebook, Twitter and crowd could be in deep shit as steemit starts to spread and take over, are they dead men walking ? I HOPE SO !

A bit more about myself;
I am a Diesel Mechanic by trade, I work for a 5 star Kubota dealer and in 2015 I won the Australian Kubota mechanical skills contest.
I have a small business on the side as a semi commercial Bee Keeper, I do a little prepping where I can and I also do some small scale gold mining.
I collect Bitcoin and Silver.

I plan to use steemit to post about my Bee Keeping activities and skills, and I want to also start a blog giving technical and mechanical assistance to all the DIY people out there with tractors, excavators, lawn mowers etc. I have full access to any Kubota technical data, it's what I do for a living.

So I hope to connect with people on this platform and make a whole lot of new friends in the process.

See you all soon.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Jamie!

It seems you have a lot of interesting skills to talk about here. I personally would love to hear more about your Bee Keeping activities. I recently saw a documentary about professional bee keepers (some with more than 10 000 hives) who travel across the US to ensure pollination of fruit plantages. I´m now more fascinated about these indispensable animals than ever. And it seems conditions for bees get tougher and tougher.

Enjoy your time here,
Shaka

Nice to meet you Shaka,

Yes I've been Bee Keeping for 14 years, it's one of the most amazing things to be a part of. Bees are truly fascinating and the main reason for the decline in their numbers is with absolute thanks to a company called Monsanto and their GMO vandalism. Their crops are killing bees.

Jamie.

Maybe you can elaborate a bit more about this in a future post, I believe many here would be interested in reading more about this.

Thanks,
Shaka

Welcome to Steemit @onyamatey! Love the username, quite fitting aye mate 😂 I'm from NZ so you could say were neighbours - howsit going?? haha

Have given you a follow mate and I look forward to your future posts ☺️ Cheers.

No worries Bro...haha
And I promise..............no sheep jokes :-)

Can I just say though, it cracks me up how Kiwis call a pin a 'pen' and a pen a 'pin'.
Where abouts are you from ? I've been all of NZ

Haha aw nice mate! 😂 if youre going to get pedantic about pronounciation, why do you guys say 'sex' for the number 6? 😄

I'm from Tauranga, Bay of Plenty ☺️ You may know it as the Mount? lol but to be fair, I actually dont live at the mount. Just like 10mins away though haha what about yourself?? I havent been all over aus but I have been to sydney, brisbane, melbourne and bundaberg (love me some gingerbeer haha) Any of those places? lol

See you took the words out of my mouth with the sex/6 talk haha

I'm from Melbourne. I haven't been to your local area, but as the usual tourist I have been to Rotorua, and that awesome Fuckaware,,dsjksjsdfjsdfweididfdsjnfjnsdf place...

And I almost died in Queenstown, but I reckon a lot of people do that.

What do you do for a living ? Besides bludging off the government...haha

Oh nice, Rotorua isnt too far away from Tauranga, about an hour drive. The fuckaware place however, we've got a lot of 'whaka' places mate - Whakatane, Whakapapa, Whakahoro (Ok, I just googled the last two names because I almost contridicted myself, nonetheless they do exist!) haha.

I've actually never been to Queenstown so you beat me there, I'm not one for bungyjumping and all that thrilling stuff though. Poop in the pants 😂

I'm a receptionist/secretary at a local law firm (I have to stipulate both titles - this story will explain why.) Gave up my bludging years a while back hahaha ( 😱 that was almost offensive btw but I will let it slide lmao)

What about yourself, hows all the sharks and spiders on your side of the ditch?

A law firm hey ? Hmmm I must say that I have a special place for 4 types of people...... Lawyers, Bankers, Politicians and Salesmen. They are all the same if you know what I mean.
Yeah NZ has a lot of weird named towns, I don't blame any Kiwi for not being able to remember. I was seeing a young lady from Auckland for a short stint, she was on the north side of the harbour in Takapuna. Supposed to be nice area but yet another weird name.
Were you expecting me to say I'd done all 3 of the bungys in Queenstown? You'd be right if you were betting on that. And it was only the Nevis that is 'shit your pants' material, I'd never do that one again, when they were winching me back up I actually had chest pains haha Thought I was having a heart attack !
But where I almost died, was in the river doing some stupid river boarding thing. Freezing cold water, thick wesuit, flippers, boogie board, fast flowing river with lots of rapids. Not good... Got sucked under in current on a rapid and the tour guide was right behind me had to rescue me.

Don't know much about the sharks, I avoid the water. Plenty of spiders though. They're ok, just the fat hairy ones get the blow torch..haha

🙄 Yeah yeah I have noticed though, since working there, almost everyone has the wrong idea about lawyers - yes, theyre supposed to know the law inside and out but they definitely work in completely different areas. For example, my firm just deals with the straight forward kind of stuff - property purchases and sales, trusts and companies - we stay away from litigation because ...why get involved really?? haha 😂 but seriously, that shit is super tedious and drawn out.

And although us NZers have some weird place names, theyre maori words which is super important toward our and my culture personally. I love it! Being different is cool man.

Gahdamn I hate anything creepy and crawling - I love New Zealand haha

The thing that disgusts me the most is when lawyers stand there and defend guilty rapists/murderers/pedo's etc just so they can make big dollars doing it. They have no moral standards.

The first time I was in NZ, I did this bus tour and the driver was a pretty laid back cool bloke. He told one of the funniest jokes I've ever heard. Are you ready to hear this ? A bit of filth in case you wanted to cover your eyes instead, but you might have heard it anyway...... "What is the Maori word for a 69'er ?.........Tootunga"
And would you believe the 'conservative' tourists on the bus actually reported the driver to the tour company for his conduct ??? He was awesome.

You'd be on the Lion Reds right about now ?

Welcome to Steemit!

I don't know much about twitter, as I don't use it, but if I remember statistics for Facebook correctly, it seems like they're still growing their active user base with 15-20% each year. So I don't think, at this point at least, that they could be classified as 'dead men walking'. I kinda see it in the same way I see the current crypto currency space, facebook is bitcoin, the reserve, for now the "standard".

That said, I do hope that alternative social media platforms like Steemit or Mastodon can get enough traction and make a good dent in these large corporations profits.

It's always refreshing to hear from someone else who isn't a slave to social media. People are always so appalled when they find out that I don't have a twitter/instagram/facebook. It's crazy how reliant they've become.

Spot on my friend.
Some people can't get out of bed unless they've had their daily Facebook fix to motivate themselves to function in the real world. Well, nothing is real for them as long as they are sucked into Zuckerbergs prison camp for the untrained mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61265.20
ETH 3320.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48