Hi I'm Olive!

Hiiii steemit community!

I have this weird name that you won't forget or you'll call me a variation of the name because you're not used to someone having this name.

Growing up I absolutely hated my name!!! Along with the fact I've always been a chubbier kid, going to school was always a pain in the ass hahaha.

A lot has happened in this time to now. Figuring out who I am and what I want to be. Things that every new age teenager or person my age has definitely felt or thought of constantly at some point in their life.

I grew up a happy kid, always optimist about the future and what I could become. From a young age I've always wanted to be a singer. Learning how to hold a note from my brother and just natural talent oozing out of me from my fathers family genetics where they're all musicians in some way.

As a kid I hated unwanted attention, embarrassing myself or failing, like this was at a very young age and I feel it's held me back to this day still. I hated family and people closest to me asking me to sing constantly because I felt like a little show monkey for their entertainment purposes.

Come 14 when every parent hates their teenager (this is when I started acting out). I was a terrible child with a lot of built up anger for some reason and would always take it out on my single mother just trying to raise me in a sane house (almost).
I started music classes and joined a choir and started loving life again because I had music in my life and when I sang or made music I felt as free as I could ever be. I went on to compete in lots of singing competitions and won quite a bit of money from these.

Hit 15 almost 16 and I receive a pretty devastating phone call letting me know my brother at the time 27 had committed suicide. From there I went downhill a little. I lost myself and kept to myself a lot and was stuck in my head constantly thinking. I wasn't the same from that day forth and I still find it hard some days when I think about it all.

Fast forward the mistakes, friendships, couple of boyfriends and crazy nights out or terrorising my poor mum!
And now You've got 21 year old me!!

21 year old me that's spent the last year heartbroken over a guy I met in Australia and fell head over heels for because of silly naive me!
I quit my job managing an adult store and started focusing more on my music and things have been looking up amazingly!

I'm heading to Thailand in 3 days from now and you can not believe how excited I am!!!!! I'm going with my best friend and we're going on a huge health detox and cleanse. Getting my mental back in order and writing and singing so much songs.

So that's a little bit about me! But I'm sure there's plenty I've missed and will have to update you with the stories I remember!1496585940244.jpeg

1497187982069.jpeg1499318598675.jpeg

Sort:  

Hello Olive, welcome to Steemit and enjoy :-)

Welcome to Steem @ollypopsnz I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much! I'm still learning what everything does but this looks like a cool place!

Welcome!

I'am pretty new in this space myself and still trying to figure this website out.
You should post some snippets of your singing especially if you've won comps before!

Going to Thailand at 21 for a detox sounds counter productive tbh lol =)

WELCOME TO STEEMIT ... !!!
Steemit is an amazing place.
Here we share the story and read the other.
This is where we connect and build relationships together.
Good luck with your trip.
So follow me https://steemit.com/@jakir
We automatically make friends ,,,
I hope you enjoy it like me.
And thank you so much friends in community steemit ,,,

Sorry for your loss! Yeah don't chase after guys lol! Welcome to Steemit! Followed! :)

Welcome to steemit,
You beutifull... i'm a barista... you like coffee.??
Vote and follow me @baristakhlis
Thank you😉

welcome @Ollypopsnz:) Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit!! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @mekong!

Congratulations @ollypopsnz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71