One week on Steemit - time to introduce myself

Hi Steemians, I've been on Steemit a week now, and am having a great experience! I am a former municipal judge and attorney (criminal defense and then district attorney until someone I put behind bars escaped and sent my family and me death threats! - at that point, I became an estate planner).

I'm retired now, living out my days with my wife and dog in Western Montana:

IMG_1832.JPG

pic1.jpg

I enjoy visiting my adult children and their kids. I'm a Boomer, still love rock n' roll, a history and film buff, and am passionate about writing.

My daughter and son-in-law got me an invested in Cryptocurrencies, and I am constantly fascinated about this brave new world. Learning as much as I can and trying to make sense of it all. They also told me about Steemit and I had to give this a try! I hope to share ideas, and have good public discourse, on topics that should matter to us all. Government - what role does it play in our lives and is this an appropriate level? Culture - how the younger generations are changing and shaping our society (for better or worse!). Politics - how pluralism is destroying any modicum of effectiveness we may have left in electing good leaders.

I've got a lot of thoughts that I will write about in the hopes of exchanging with others. I would love to learn what others think, because if we don't seek this out ourselves, we will certainly never learn it from our biased media.

I'm a Westerner, and a libertarian / independent. I've been trained throughout my career to look at all sides of an issue. But the older I get, the more I feel like Walt Longmire. I have less and less patience for injustice, and certain wrongs committed against defenseless people and animals (especially pit bulls) bring my blood to a boil. My daughter joked with me that my Steemit name ought to be oldmanjustice. And why not?

pic2.jpg

40022.jpg

pic4.jpg

I'm not much to look at, so she helped me create a bitmoji for oldmanjustice. Now I feel like I am really technologically advanced!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @oldmanjustice I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thank you @bottymcbotface. i am following you too

welcome to the Steemit community, @Oldmanjustice!! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me !

thanks @mekong! i am following you too

With your one week of steemit experience I guess you've made some good friends, welcome to steemit dear friend @oldmanjustice, I've met with good friends by searching 'introduceyourself' tag, i love newbies and delight in giving them a hand of friendship. Love from @maxdevalue, am sending some steem to your wallet right away, welcome on-board! Your contribution is needed here in steemit. ONE LOVE.

thanks @maxdevalue. very glad to make your acquaintance. great place to make friends!

Great, am happy you made it here.

welcome to steemit and nice to meet you. im pretty new here as well, all the best for us both. Followed :)

thank you! following you too!

Nice post, welcome to steemit! There's no place quite like western Montana!

I agree! Thanks toasty!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

thanks digitalplayer! i'm following you too!

Welcome to Steemit @oldmanjustice!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

thank you bot-helper! i am following you now!

Welcome to steemit !! Enjoy this beautiful world! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46