Who am I? Why am I here? Good question actually....

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I understand the best thing to do when entering a new community is to #introduceyourself. And it feels like explaining why I am here will be exciting but difficult. Some reflection and introspection required... but I am going to try and keep it simple.

28763_390891258006_7714081_n.jpg

I am the woman in that ghostly bubble (I really am). I am also a lot of other things; a physiotherapist, an almost- psychologist (MSc in progress), a mother, a wife, a maker, a crypto enthusiast, a graphic designer, a photographer, an aspiring healer, an accountant and bookkeeper, a marketing officer, an entrepreneur in the making, a political activist, a life long learner... and definitely a dreamer. That last one might seem stereotypical, but it is also an incredible 180o change on what I was only 4 years ago.

I walked the road well travelled, as the good girl that I was. I followed the prescription of studying, getting a good job, working hard, giving 100%, securing a good home & waiting to have children until all was in place. But you see, the universe seems to have different ideas and it has put obstacles in my way, well, I called them obstacles. I now realise they were opportunities.

Let's just say I had my kids (who slapped me with the realisation that I want a better world for them) and my career and quality of life were not progressing as promised, my job became untenable due to the conflict between the austerity led restraint in resources and my unreserved commitment to helping people live a better life.

Then this monster called #Brexit came. I obviously live in the UK and have done for 17 yrs, but I am a Spanish national. What this has done to me is nothing short of remarkable. It has chewed me up and spat me out. My mental health has never before been so challenged. But I am coming out of the other end with a thirst to achieve all the things I was too scared to aim for because I realised that I have an immense amount of things to offer to the people of this world.

I am ready to go out there, to share what I know, to let people into my passions, to help in any way that I can by any means necessary. I am ready to be vulnerable in this way because I finally realise that fulfilment and the zest of life are not contained within the circumstances that surround you. It is in the things YOU create and in the people that you share them with.

I suppose that is what I am doing here. And in the near future I will start sharing all these things here, sharing my experiences, research and what I have learnt along the way. Expect anything!

At the same time I get to support a new way of doing things for all of us. A way to disrupt the 'way things have always been done', and that makes it all the more exciting.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @olayar I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Cheers botty!

Welcome to Steemit! From me apvote. If you have questions - ask me @cranium

Thank you for the welcome @cranium. I will definitely take you up on that offer!

Welcome here Olayar :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Thanks for the feedback and for the follow @mekong!

Nice! You have a fresh account so I wanted to personally welcome you. This deserves an upvote and rock on!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those first upvotes on my posts so I suggest you to try out Steemfollower as you can earn 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Thanks for the advice @kromossom, I will have a look at your suggestion.

Thanks for the welcome @steem-d-anlovnit, it nice to meet you all!

Congratulations @olayar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

great intro Olaya! You rock. Thanks for introducing me to steemit too.... I think Im going to have some fun with this :)

Congratulations @olayar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @olayar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49