Removing the Hood - My Introduction Post

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

rob.jpg

Can one introduce him/herself in a paragraph, much less a sentence?

"Looking forward to making great friends here!!"
Thanks steemit!

That is what I wrote, meaning to introduce myself, seven days ago when I first signed up.

And you can fill in the blanks, few even took notice of me! Why did they have to? How does “looking forward to blah blah make known my identity, my hopes, my expectations, to anybody serious enough to want a relationship?

But did I mean it? Yes I did. I was compelled! I bet many attest to a similar experience, it was out of a sense of obligation.

If I am going to earn $1 dollar, why should anybody know my true identity? If I am going to earn $1,000,000, why should anybody know my identity?

I didn’t know which side of this hedge freaked me out, i mean, in an open community where the Wallet is on the wall, and in which I had not yet the courage to believe I could belong, and thrive in, how comfortable was I being truly identified with a meager $1? The rest is of course now history.

But seven days of reading and writing and meeting and conversing…..seven days in Steemit is actually more than one needs to make acquaintance, to find a belonging, collectively so personal that, fear of ‘being known’ is replaced by the guilt ‘of not being known’.

I mean, you start to almost desperately want to want to be known, for who you truly are, to be associated in your endeavors with who you truly are.

And thus might be constructed the framework of my story. I must now ‘be known’. I deserve it. Steemit deserves it.

My name is Okusa Robert from Uganda, a small and beautiful nation somewhere at the greater horn of Africa.

I am a software developer with 4 years’ experience and have to my name over 20 websites, systems and apps built to-date. So overall, that is my source of earning.

I am very, very, and very excited about the Block chain technology, and see it as a virgin, still to develop area wherein my skills and passions come handy.

And yes, if I have noticed, and loved anything in the last seven days at Steemit, it is that we are a community of enthusiasts, whether tech savvy or not, that is united by the business, but especially community imperatives embodied in the possibilities of the Blockchain Technology.

So boom, that is me. And I am very happy to join the Steemit community. Will I earn much? I look forward to! Will I earn little? I look forward to!

The point is, either way, I will belong. I will belong. And I will belong as a Steemiteer! To read wide, to write much, to share my honest opinions, to make informed comments…

Little is asked for, but much is certainly expected by Steemiteers, but I can at least pledge to offer my time, my resourcefulness, my fellowship, my love, my all….

If you have been faithful and interested enough to read this introduction up to this point, you should know I can’t be grateful enough, but I am. Will you please, please….make me your next friend by following me. Rest assured I will follow you.

Hummmm. That is it.
Now I belong. And Thanks for welcoming me into this growing community.

Sort:  

Ok, now this is serious. I just followed you! Its a great description of your experience, and certainly a top drawer introduction. Don't worry, better late than never. otherwise, you are welcome

I would like to invite you to Steemit Minnows Party (SMP).

@steemitminnows is a close-knit, experimental community of new Steemit members focused on creating engagement on one anothers' posts through more than just upvotes. Active members are eligible for small, random gifts of SBD from time to time.

We are a small but growing community and our Discord home is @ https://discord.gg/zPv9kMZ

I look forward to having you onboard with us. Membership is free.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99