Bought some steem for the trading, stayed for the community.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey steemit.

I found out about bitcoins back in 2012 and was instantly fascinated by the concept. Me and a friend left his GTX 660 mining overnight and earned around 0.01 BTC which was mindblowing at the time, how could money be created with a GPU!?

I spent a few years buying things online with BTC, including buying a minecraft account for 1 BTC (about $15 at the time!), as well as trying and failing to day trade on MtGOX and gambling away what I thought was spare change on bitcoin blackjack. When the bubble didn't burst and the value of BTC kept rising, I'd just about accepted that I'd not just missed the boat with BTC but stood at the harbor and watched it sail away.

After finding out about altcoins, I ended up getting involved with the dogecoin subreddit and although I soon realised that we weren't going to make it to the moon, I loved the system of tipping, the generosity of the community and the quality content that was helped by the monetary incentive.

I bought some steem on a gut instinct hoping to do a bit of swing trading with them but after finding out what they actually are, I transferred them straight here. I think this is a fantastic idea (it reminds me of the /r/dogecoin tipping system) and can't wait to get involved in this community. :D

I don't feel like posting a picture of myself but here's a nice sunset pic I took the other month:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45