Introducing the one & only Taralei (with guest appearances by Layla the Dog!)

Hey there! My name is Taralei. My parents completely made it up - don't worry if you mispronounce it, no one gets it right at first.

I am brand new to Steemit and bitcoin. Feel free to assume I know nothing about what is going on here, at least until February. ;)

For the past 5.5 years, I have worked as a freelance pop culture and political journalist. Going into 2018, I decided it was time to completely take over as The Boss, and so the other day, I launched an online publication about local, up-and-coming artists, called Meridian Creators. I'm always on the lookout for new artists to feature and writers who would like to contribute pieces about artists in their town/city, so feel free to reach out about that!

Deciding to take charge and be The Boss this year is part of why I joined Steemit after my amazing friend @molovelly told me about it. I am very excited to be here and expand my reach with my writing!

27140668_10211337156525925_486986364_o.jpg

Oh hey look! There's Layla, my furry child/sidekick/bae, wondering why on earth I'm paying more attention to a dry erase board than her. She's a 10 year old collie mix who I adopted 5 years ago. Not only is she adorable, but she is amazingly brilliant. I went through training with her to have her certified as a PTSD Service Dog. She was unfortunately too skittish with loud noises to pass her Service Animal certification, but she is a certified ESA, and still performs the tasks she was trained to do as needed. Expect to get to know her as well if you follow me!

cuties.jpg

I'm a nerd of all trades - by that I mean I will nerd out about music and politics as much as I will about "typical" nerdy things, such as Star Trek. My apartment is decorated with a few stray protest signs, but the dominant decor is all my Harry Potter, Star Wars, Marvel, DC, and Chuck posters. To stay active, I take boxing classes and hike with Layla.

Fun Facts: INFP; Aries; Hufflepuff; born and raised nerdy - my parents named me so my initials were TNG (yes, for The Next Generation), and raised me to love both Star Trek & Star Wars.

I'm excited to get start posting here regularly! While I work as a journalist and deal in facts daily, I also write poetry and fiction in my free time. I plan on posting short stories and poetry here, as well as maybe some of my photography art.

If you're interested in seeing what else I do on the web, feel free to follow me on Instagram, Facebook, and/or Twitter.

Thanks for reading!
Peace, Love, and Badgers;
Taralei <3

Sort:  

I love your sense of humor! We'd love to see you over at The Writers' Block discord server. Just follow this link. Hope to see you soon!

Ah thank you so much! I've got a hectic couple days of work starting now, but I will jump on Sunday or Monday!

Welcome! I absolutely love this intro post. I am also a Star Trek fan but of course next generation 😉. I like that you are a fan of both wars and Trek. Your doggie is magnificently cute. I wanted to welcome you and hope you enjoy steemit, which I think you will. You have a fantastic friend here too, @molovelly is wonderful and will certainly guide you in the right direction 😀

Thanks so much! I am very happy to be here. :D

Hahaha your dog makes me smile.

Welcome to Steemit!

Hahaha thank you so much!!!
badger badgers badgers badgers badgers ah snake AH SNAKE!!
This will be stuck in my head all day now haha

damn, that's catchy :D

damn you, @archive.xyz ...I'm still going - badger-badger-badger LOL you better hope I can sleep tonight hahahahaha

Trust me - you won't be able to. haahha.

YAYYYYYYYYY!!!!! So glad you made it, Grasshopper! <3 You will have a lovely time here! This is a great place for you to perfect your craft. There is a lovely group on Discord called #thewritersblock that supports & mentors writers on the platform. I can't wait to see what you do here! I know you're brilliant!
x x
Mo

Thank you! Sending you ALL the hugs! <3 <3 <3

Shoot...I missed this :-(

Welcome young lady! I hope you have the greatest time with a beautiful and giving community. Much love <3

Welcome to the community!

Thanks so much!!!

welcome to steemit! i cant wait to meet Layla!v *following and upvoting you!

Layla does love meeting new people! Thanks so much, I really appreciate it. :D

Welcome Taralei !

I might be INFP, or maybe more so a INTP, and sometimes outgoing. Great service dog. Good work with becoming the boss. Love art, too.

Layla says anyone who thinks she's great must be cool. ;) Thanks for reading!

So how do you say your name?

and welcome!

Thanks! I think the best way to show it would be... tEHr-uh-lee? It's fairly simple once you actually hear the correct pronunciation, but so many people see the name and are daunted by it. I've heard so many different, crazy pronunciations, I could write a book about them haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77