My Mistakes, My Experience!!!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Most @steemit newbies tend to have trouble figuring out what they should do with their newly created steemit account or even simply understand what their goals are; fortunately, reading helps to better understand yourself. There are plenty of information to be found in FAQ and search engines. Yet you seek information from fellow newbies. A newbie can't tell you what skill you need to excel in a certain market niche and non steemian can't help you weigh the risks of moving halfway around steemit, but your network can. When it comes to figuring out how to navigate your life its the people you're close to that you should depend on the most for an answerIMG_20180211_150816_582.jpg
MY EXPERIENCE ON/IN STEEMIT SO FAR
Getting to join steemit and becoming a steemian is a life time opportunity without doubt and my sincere appreciation goes to @emmakwisequote , a great mentor so far. I joined steemit on the 11th of February, 2018 and raring about getting noticed and basically make upvotes after which in the long run, I realized that things works differently o'er here. I shall be sharing a little about my steemit experience so far which I believe the newbies would tap and learn at least a little from. Sincerely yours, am new here just like you but believe me, I've experienced a lot. As I had stated earlier that @emmakwisequote introduced me to steemit which I did register for I have long been searching for a platform where I'll get to write and read varieties of lengthy journals and so on. My fellow newbies on steemit, you have to be careful o'er here sharing and get more time to know about how things work in steemit and most importantly, never be in a haste to start blogging. Since I got the approval of my @steemit account, I've been so excited and raring to make cool cash, but the question is how can I ever make the cool cash without having broad knowledge & understanding of steemit? That particular question I left unanswered contributed immensely to my regrettable mistakes so far(though corrected) but late kind of. You just have to be extraordinarily patient and have the eagerness to learn, if I had gotten someone to tell me this earlier, such mistakes wouldn't have happened but am damn sure that all things work together for good. @emmakwisequote advised me seriously to embrace patience which my over excitement never permitted me to heed such advice. **He told me to : learn how things work on steemit, make friends etc before putting up a post which I never understood his concern because I was new and I would like you newbies to put those piece of advice into considerable consideration too, so as not to have any cause to regret later. I was so eager like many of you to start posting and getting upvotes leaving out the advice; I started jumping from one room to the other just because I want to prove to many that I gat stuffs not forgetting that I know nothing about the platform and wasn't reading about it. I eventually ended up getting unwholesome advice as a result of my puma lifestyle, which I yielded to. I was advised by different set of people that all I need to start doing was posting messages and I'd make my cool cash, forgetting that I was introduced to steemit by a particular person. Please, chose your circles right and desist from taking advice from just anybody, majority are out there who'd never tell you that they do not have the right answer to the question being asked but are take advantage and end up misleading you(I was a victim of this). I ended up falling for such advice and posted 3post within 20minutes(imagine). I pushed the links to many promotion room but got nothing tangible for the posts; I was disturbed and couldn't go back to @emmakwisequote to tell him what had really happened and seek for his advice(I became dumb like a man being caught by his wife cheating) then, I decided never to talk about it not knowing that @emmakwisequote was monitoring me(he does that to all his newbies and oldies though, as a leader who wants his followers to grow). My conscience got triggered and the feeling of guilt sets in for I have acted like Judas but ready to face the outcome. Sincerely yours, he commended my efforts and scolded me for disobedience and creation of a low standard posts and told me that that wasn't what he's meant for and never expected such from anybody. I did apologize but the deed had been done. It's good to be obedient and patient. Its said that experience is the best teacher and man isn't a perfect being because we can make mistakes anytime. I have never been so happy with myself since then and tried all I could to have those posts deleted but all efforts proved abortive(be careful of making mistakes that you won't be able to correct). A bigger thanks to @theessential who also came to my rescue. He left his reply on the post and I quote I would highly recommend redoing your introduction post.
Take your time and make it least a few paragraphs
Post it under the hashtag #introduceyourself
Take a picture holding a piece of paper with the date and your Steemit name on it for the picture.Look at others introductions.If you do it right- you will make some good money on your first post. This will help you gain some reputation and steem power. Goodluck!
His reply got me rejuvenated and gingered @Christinaa also made her observation as a very good intro post..!try to learn little more about formatting.. ur post will look more attractive then which I did as advised. @thehoneys and @mykos and others encouraged, comforted, & upvoted, telling me to let go and see my experience as a challenge, move on for there are greater tasks and successes ahead.IMG_20180214_120516_992.jpg
Fellow newbies, having good people around you matters a lot as that'll contribute to your growth on steemit. Peradventure there are many who have made same mistakes as I, see that as a challenge too, prepare yourselves so well and set the ball rolling on steemit for I look forward to reading and supporting you here but if you haven't made such mistakes, please be careful and learn from my experience. As advised by @theessential and @emmakwisequote, I went back to my introduceyourself post having $0:9(so poor you say😨), edited it without upvote expectation, though I saw that as late but correcting it is far better than not for future purposes; but later surprised when I saw $1: 24 the last time I checked (fair enough). Never feel too depressed to correct you mistakes because a great man never gives up on himself. I Sincerely appreciate all who had contributed to my blogs in one way or the other and promised never to disappoint you, for together we shall go beyond the whales rank(if any; still learning) on steemit.IMG_20180213_123853_615.jpg
*With that so far, I retraced my steps and went back to my drawing board to start afresh from the scratch and learn many things rigorously which I supposes to have learnt before my mistakes but I strongly believe that if it had never happened, I won't be here sharing this as a guide to all newbies and steemians for all things happened for a reason and I've come to realize that such mistakes of mine actually happened because God wants to use me and my mistakes as a "guide" to all confused and clueless newbies out here. Much home work is expected from you all.
However, during the cause of my learning, I did requested for links of those things I need to know which I believe all will be useful to you too. @theessential sent me Here is a couple articles that might help
https://steemit.com/steemit/@dutch/how-steemit-payouts-work-a-beginners-guide

https://steemit.com/steemit/@theessential/the-essential-blog-posting-vs-commenting-tips-on-building-your-success-here-on-steemit
many more.
I took my time to peruse and practice all and also read posts from whales, made reasonable lengthy comments, upvoted and my actions had yielded positive outcome so far. I pressed forward by also joining and becoming active in @sreemitchat, participating in discussions, making friends, sharing of ideas with different people, asking questions and ended up staying guides by the answers am provided! Fellow newbies, do not stop asking questions on a daily basis, I mean those questions bothering you from those you considered masters/mentors on @steemit, make proper use of @steemit search engine, FAQ and so on (not forgetting that my refusal to ask the questions also contributed to my mistakes (corrected though but never forgotten), by doing that, you'd be getting familiar with @steemit and become noticed. NB: join the chat mainly for advice on how to grow and experience success with the platform not just for the fun of it, in steemit every minute counts
Also at a particular time when I had issues with replying, upvoting, etc I consulted this link https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sykochica/answering-common-questions-what-is-bandwidth-why-does-it-keep-me-from-doing-anything.
NB: @Steemit to me so far is the greatest rewarding platform for all, you just have to take your time to work more on yourself before selling yourself to the world and am sure that y'all also know that @steemit isn't for the lazy ones.
I do hope this post provides little help to you and remember that its never to late to correct ones wrongs. Am open to all and ready to grow on steemit. Do also feel free to contact me for further assistance. Lets steemit together and forever Thanks.
DQmeAKKRJdn2Dm6qkU4zGCo62Dgbog5TQ2d6NZix71eKtKL.gif

Sort:  

Excellent job on your posts @oduwole. I’m so happy to see you really making some quality posts. I have been working hard for 2 months on Steemit and one of my recent posts is five days old and at $224.00ish dollars. This is my biggest post yet!! Don’t give up you will have your day , I promise.

Also, I’m putting together a minnow support network for those who are new to Steemit. I would love to have you as one of my first people involved. I have a list of people who are interested and I’m slowly developing this on the side.

I’ll keep you informed.

Goodluck my friend.

Nice work on the big payout. I have never gotten anywhere near that. But for me it is not about the $, although it is nice. It is just about sharing stuff that interests me and hopefully others also.

It hasn’t been about the money for me either- honestly, I stumbled upon Steemit looking for crypto info and decided to make an account because google kept taking me here. I decided to start posting myself and after entering the supernatural writing contest- my post did exceptionally well and earned me that payout...well not for another couple days technically.

I’m just happy to have some recognition and an audience to read my material. I wanna be heard more than I want to make money- I won’t deny that I feels good though.

Enjoy your success mate, I know I would. I got a little buzz this morning when I saw one of my posts was at $17, lol. But it is more interesting to me to see what people are writing, view their posts, enjoy the photos, learn things, engage with people all over the world. Those are the things that keep me coming back. I enjoy comments people make on my blog, so do not engage with bots. I am sure I could improve my payouts if I wanted to, but a bot auto voting is no measure or gauge of the value of what you have done, to have individuals engage with my posts is my measure of whether it is successful.

Unfortunately Steemit is set up in such a way that even valued post are not directly correlated with how much they make. You can write a brilliant post that isn’t seen by a soul because you’re minnow and have too little a following.

Bots are nice because they propel your post up into “see-able” territory.

I use bots because they help my hard work get a view or two...

Just my opinion.

And fair enough too.

Thanks so much mentor, I do appreciate your personality and support so far. I shall never give up for I have many great minds around me which you're one and I do look forward to that privilege. Much love.

Great post thanks for sharing..

You're most welcome. Thanks for reading through!

Hi Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.
coffee.jpg

Thanks, I shall definitely do that.

Thank you for sharing your experience. As a newbie myself, I'm looking for information and advice, and your post is an excellent read for newcomers. Welcome to Steemit! Best of Luck!

Am honored, thanks and together we shall make impact. Thanks.

Good to hear about your experience. I did not have anyone to guide me so just sort of lurked and posted a couple of blog posts, replied to a few things and have not worried about how much I made, how many people replied or how many views I got. And they just started trickling on in. Quality in my posts in both pictures and information, along with originality, is what I aim to achieve, knowing I will never make a fortune off things, I treat my rewards just as a way of powering up the account, not for its value, but just as a way of getting more back into the community.

Thanks a lot and I've also learnt another thing from your reply.

Wow! You blown my mind with this wonderful piece... More success bro... Hug

Thanks boss, I appreciate you for your patience, corrections, guidance, advice and lot more.👏👏👐

well done oduwole!

Yes boss! 👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84