Introduceyourself: I'm a 20 year old Computer Science student from the Balkans

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Dear steemies, no.. steemsters? Hm, doesn't sound right! Steemits? Khm~

Dear people of Steem,

I am a 20 year old student of Computer Science in Slovenia. In the past few years I've read one too many books on business and personal development. I started making to-do lists, which soon turned into diaries. I figured the next step would be for me to actually reach out to people, and try to share my thoughts and ramblings with the wide world!


About Me

In my late teens, I had replaced my video game habit with business and personal development. At 16 years of age, I realised I am unfit to be a professional esports player, and quit the popular game League of Legends alltogether - coldfished it.

I went from being a socially awkward person, scared shitless of entering uncomfortable social environments, to a shining extrovert. My mentality:

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 16.28.10.png

I achieved that with the help of many friends, and books. Fake it till you make it is something that may seem stupid to a person riddled with social anxiety, but in my mind, it changed everything.

When I realised I was the only person who found ME weird, I came upon a realisation -
How you act and carry yourself, will define how other people perceive you. If you wish to make a certain kind of impression on someone, exert an action that best fits your wants.

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 16.41.07.png

After a while, this will come second nature to you, and you will stop faking these actions, and they will become a part of your normal self. It is that easy.


If you think I'm just sprouting bs, think about it this way: when you are born, you possess no knowledge on how to act. All you know is how to cry, and the very basic motor functions.

In the following years, parents ingrain in you your default persona, during your early teens you develop that persona to the best of your abilities. You tend to copy certain actions your close friends do, and you adapt to your social circle (family, people from your class, friends, bullies).

Now, all of this may look logical to you - but what us humans tend to not understand, is that we ourselves can change how we act, change our habits. This change can be done at will, anytime!


I am interested in hearing your thoughts on this matter, whether you agree or disagree!

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steemit ☺️ it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community

Welcome! Great post, I totally agree with you! I think a lot of people have anxiety, if not all , it's how we deal with it that makes us who we are and how we are perceived. Good luck to you in your endeavors and happy steeming!

Such a wholesome comment! Careful, don't let all that sunshine escape!

Wish you all the best!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit odisity. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! Welcome to the blockchain

I am going to start posting on DTube, yes! Wasn't aware STEEM was this large!

Congratulations @odisity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37