To besteemCreated with Sketch.

Hi everyone, I mean Steemians (that's going to take some getting used to),

My name is Chris. Just dropping an introduction (as if you didn't know that already). Where to begin...

First let me say this.

TLDR:

  • found out about Steemit through cryptocurrency news
  • fell in love with the project
  • became inspired to write again
  • now attempting to fall flat on my face, I mean write
  • ok, high five, thanks for reading

Now that, that's out of the way:

I found out about Steemit after reading about it in a cryptocurrency article and I'm guessing a lot of folks here learned of the place the same way.

After looking into Steemit my eyes widened. What I saw was one of the most beautiful things in my life. A place that can serve multiple purposes for me (Selfish isn't it?). A place where I can be inspired to write again, share my writings, and read what others have produced. A place to simply be.

"A place to simply be." Sounds weird doesn't it? Writing got me through a lot of rough patches growing up. Times in my life where I couldn't talk to someone else in fear of being judged. Where I didn't need the judgment. It always helps to talk to someone about your problems. But, let's face it. You're being judged. "Judged." Such a heavy word to use. But their's truth to that. When you make a decision or form an opinion you are in judging. So when you're having a discussion about your problems with someone their judging you for better or worse. And sometimes it isn't the help you need. This is why I relied on writing.

Writing was a way for me to simply be, specifically poetry. A place of meditation, torment, and salvation. A court where I, myself, passed judgement. There were no misunderstandings, no miscommunication, and no misrepresentations. Just the plain truth of being.

However, what's the purpose of writing if it isn't shared? Writing is a form of communication. There's the irony. Here I am waxing poetic about writing, subtly suggesting that it is a solitary event. But that's only half of the truth. We write to exist. But what's the point of marking down this existence if it's not shared. That's where I have fallen short. I never shared. I was too scared of being known. Too afraid of being judged. And there's the cosmological joke. I had already judged myself in my writing and deemed my existence should not be shared.

So here I am Steemians. Simply trying to "be."

P.S. - Here's a my picture to show that I exist. Haha, after a post about simply "being."

IMG_20170914_033229.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Welcome to Steem @oceanrift I have upvoted and sent you a tip

WoW i'm Waiting for your next post

@hichemfetoui Aww chucks. Thanks for the vote of confidence sir. I'm about to post a small haiku I prepared before I realized I should have dropped an introductory post.

@hichemfetoui Just posted a piece. I have other pieces I need to dig up from storage (not haiku's). I hope to get them posted soon. Cheers

Truth never damages a cause that is just.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Hi, @Oceanrift, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Nice , another friend I personally know in the community @oceanrift this is awesome!! Welcome I hope you have fun here let me see you steemit up!

Hi @oceanrift welcome to Steemit, have a nice time ahead. Welcome to steemit.
I have upvoted and followed you. get to know me @tapanbk

Nice to meet you @ oceanrift i have upvoted you post
thanks for sharing

Welcome! Hope you enjoy Steemit! We are a great community. I am a Brazilian writer and videomaker, living in London. Here I post about photography, travelling and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

Thanks. The platform is so welcoming. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43