How to Create a Great IntroduceYourself Post Like This One

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

• START WITH A HOOK •

Let's face it.

• STATE A PROBLEM •

The first post is the hardest.

How do you introduce yourself to a community that is, more or less, going to be financially rewarding you (or ignoring you) based on what you say?

You could state your name and say hi. And that could work just fine.

• OFFER A SOLUTION •

But you can also dramatically increase your post's readership with a few small tweaks.

...and get more upvotes as well.

For example, I could have just started this post by saying something like this:

• FOLLOW IT UP WITH A PROMISE •

Hey SteemIt Comunity! My name is Justin Oberman. I'm an Advertising Associate Creative Director living in Los Angeles, California. I joined SteemIt to share what I know about writing and creativity.

• WRITE THE BODY •

That works just fine.

But the point of a headline is to get you to read the first line, And the point of the first line should be about getting you to read the second. And so on...

So start with a hook.

A hook can be something an interesting fact about yourself. For example:

"My name is Justin Oberman, and I used my marketing skills to rebrand myself and convince my ex-wife to remarry me."

It could be something that people would be interested in doing, as well.

"My name is Justin Oberman, and I make over 15k a month writing posts like this (amongst other things)."

A hook doesn't have to be an introduction as all. It could start with a simple sentence: "Let's face it," "I think you'll agree with me when I say," etc.

But the hook only takes you so far. You still have to keep'em reading.

The irony about introductory posts is that no one cares about you. For the most part, the people you're introducing yourself to are just as interested in themselves as you are in you.

In other words, most people think about themselves (myself included).

So follow up your hook with a problem that resonates with them.

In this post, it was "The first post is the hardest."

Then briefly state your solution.

In this post, it was, "But one small tweak could turn ten readers into 100."

Then promise something. This will help them understand why they should care about you!

In this post, it's "I joined SteemIt to share what I know about writing and creativity."

And that's precisely what I hope to do.

I'll be posting tips and tricks on how to improve your writing, as well as your creativity.

I hope you'll find it enjoyable and useful!

Unknown.jpeg

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit community @obercreative!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.
This is some very solid advice for newcomers to the writing business and it may help a lot of Steemians overcome some writing problems that they may have; and you have a very nice writing style for a professional.

Eight suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and steemconnect,
  3. The master password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit,
    be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once, and
  7. When you open your steemit.com, in the upper right corner of the page there are 3 bars. Click on those, and then on the "welcome", and you will get a lot of reading material that will help you.
  8. Do NOT open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Steemians available who can help you; you can click to go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy Steeming!

Welcome to Steem! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! In addition, I have published a post that provides great references to assist you in your journey. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or feedback!

You joined the same month and year as me, that is .. a long time ago. Things were better, and yet worse in March 2018.

It's a long story.., but I see you are really new.. so welcome and please read this.. I made it for the likes of newbies so you don't make mistakes from day one.

https://steemit.com/steem/@slobberchops/the-non-definitive-newbie-survival-guide-to-the-steem-blockchain

Thanks! Super helpful!

Welcome to #steemit! I won't rehash what others have already told you, but, just know that if you need anything, you are more than welcome to ask me and I will give you an answer or find you one!

Good luck and I will drop in to see how you are doing! Good luck and have a great night!

!tip

Thanks! What tags do you think I should be using for writing tip posts?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Damn good one!
Welcome!

I believe you will do fine here. Just be patience :)

Great tips, and welcome to Steem! Writer's advice well needed here.

Thank you! Any tips you’d like to hear about?

One of the things that annoys me us boring titles on Steem!

Headlines are my speciality. “How to Give Your Articles Great Headlines” coming right up :)

Awesome... tagging @mrprofessor as we were talking about this very thing the other day!

Option B is to find the biggest most powerful accounts in the system and insult the crap out of them. You might not get many votes but at least you will get noticed.

It worked.

Hook bit. Post read. Following with interest. 😎

I'm Oatmeal. What? What is oatmeal? How is that for a hook?

Lumpy or grainy?

Probably lumpy with strawberries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45