Steemit introduction: from rags to riches

314206_4268646706957_1358073969_n.jpg

My family emigrated from Ukraine in 1995, when I was just five years old. I don’t remember much about how life was like in the former Soviet Union, but from what I hear from my parents and grandparents life was difficult, especially for us Jews, treated as second-class citizens.
1929727_1237153721527_7132023_n.jpg

For example, my mom was not allowed to attend Unversity in Ukraine. Consequently, forcing her to move to Voronezh, Russia, where she got her Ph.D. in Chemistry. After, she permanently relocated to Voronezh, where anti-Semitism was not an issue. Nevertheless, life was still hard, and when the U.S.S.R collapsed in 1991, life became even more desperate.

Now, to make a long story short my family and I were lucky enough to be given an opportunity to move to the United States. I can't even articulate how grateful I am to this nation for accepting us. In the U.S my mom went from
cleaning toilets to having an outstanding career in Chemistry doing R&D.

10734101_10204419183652214_4668959809246489423_n.jpg

Later, I joined the U.S Army as a way to say thank you and pay back the debt that I felt I owed to the American people. Additionally, I'm incredibly proud of my Russian and Jewish heritage. Without getting political, let me say that if Russia and the U.S worked together, we would all be much better off, because There is so, so much these two great nations can accomplish standing side by side with each other. Anyone who has ever been to Russia knows how much Russians love America.

Sort:  

Welcome! Nice story. Thank you for your service. Hopefully you can fight for real freedom now.

Hello, nyclogic! I wish you a very happy journey here in this awesome community :) Enjoy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

hey i hope you enjoy it here :)

Welcome to Steem, @nyclogic!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2716 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.15 : Signatures.

Happy Memorial Day!!

@nyclogic, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit.
images (22).jpeg

nyclogic I will give you 0.100 SBD vote 5000 resteem and tell you how to get 2 to 4 SBD in every single day see my profile description or contact me on Discord : farhannaqvi7#1327

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48