I created Liberty Minecraft

Liberty Minecraft introduceyourself.png

I've created a way for people to experience liberty using the world's best selling computer game: Minecraft. More than 25 million people can play in under one minute. I want to share our stories with you! Here's how it happened:

In November 2015 I was a Reddit user. That month Reddit began censoring large amounts of content. They also decided to ban users for their preferences and speech. Users left and many of them ended up at Voat. During those first weeks a Minecraft server was promoted at the top of the front page: VoatCraft.

It was busy. I found myself designing contraptions for players. Wonderful people played there. People who cared about things like free speech. They contributed and donated a lot of money to support the server. I spoke out and asked to see evidence that donations were used for server expenses. None came.

Instead, at two months the server was hacked. Thousands of hours had vanished. The operators informed us no backup had been performed. People voiced their dismay and confusion on voat:

I think we’re all feeling some serious grief at this point. No matter if you were new to the server or if you’ve been here a month now you’ve probably put some work into the server. Be it a dirt hut and a bed, or massive underwater domes, huge auto-melon farms, cities, havens. Every single minute of effort put into this server has been incredible and I am seriously in awe seeing the dedication of some of the users to such a new server.

My initial reaction upon returning home from work was shock. I honestly had to sit down for a minute and just breathe.

And then I was disgusted. How could this happen?

  • BonsaiLeaf

No answer came. Within a month the server operators vanished without explanation. For some reason the experience stuck with me. I didn’t always get along with everyone on the server – in some cases it was anything but. Still, I cared about what happened. I know this because it’s easy to remember the people who were taken for the proverbial ride. I know this because month after month I was learning to provide a better option.

Liberty Minecraft launched in March of 2017. I'm happy to say that Tom Woods shared my goal with the world: 10,000 hours of experience in free markets, capitalism, morality, and austrian economics. We're going to get there! This month we crossed 9k.

I believe Liberty Minecraft has a small but important role to play: demonstrating that libertarian ethics and austrian economics create a better world.

To read more click here...

Sort:  

wow that's awesome

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nullcase to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63