My First Post: An Introduction to My Mysterious Adventures of Two Different Realms

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Maayong adlaw, mga higala! It’s a great pleasure to be part of this online society. “Maayong adlaw, mga higala!”, which literally means “Good day, folks!” is a Cebuano language - one of the major languages in the Philippines (read more about Cebuano language: https://www.alsintl.com/resources/languages/Cebuano/). It is my way of offering you all a sweet welcoming taste of my culture. And surely, you’ll get to have more as I’ll keep myself posted in this new engaging platform.

1. Ted Nudgent Fernandez Tac-an Verification Photo.jpg

My Verification Photo. It’s me holding my verification doodle (a clearer photo can be seen below). Thanks to my dearest cousin @xyza for inviting me in this awesome group – which I believe, I can meet awesome and great people too.

2. Ted Nudgent Fernandez Tac-an Verification Doodle.jpg

Anyway, Ted Nudgent Fernandez Tac-an is my name. Ted comes from my father’s name, Teodoro. Nudgent, according to my mother, was the name of her favorite rock-band artist, Ted Nugent. I didn’t know why they added “d” in the spelling though. I also heard my mom telling me before that “gent” in my name means I am “gentle”. As I was growing, I tried to define myself through my name based on how I understand myself. So, here’s how it went. Tac-an, my family name, can be considered as a variation of the word “tag-an”, a Cebuano word, which can be literally translated as “guess”. Ted, in quite a number of sources, means “to spread out”. Nudge of Nudgent, on the other hand, means “gentle touch of persuasion”. And so, I came to believe that I am a “guess of spreading-out gentle touch of persuasion. Guess on me and you will be persuaded!

2.1 Ted Nudgent.JPG

I was born in Oroquieta City – a capital city of Misamis Occidental, Southern Philippines (read more about Oroquieta City: http://oroquietacity.gov.ph/). I am 28 years old and turning a year older on the 22nd of November. And yes, I am a cusper – a Scorpio-Sagitarrius cusper. I am a feral freedom lover, a courageous risk-taker, and often tread fearlessly in taboo or dangerous psychic terrain (read more about Scorpio-Sagitarius cusper: https://www.thoughtco.com/the-scorpio-sagittarius-cusp-4115435).

3. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Brothers.jpg

I am a middle-child of three (3) brothers. And I experienced middle-child syndrome (read more about middle-child syndrome: https://www.everydayfamily.com/the-middle-child-syndrome/). When I was young, I always felt like I don’t have a space. Vincent, my elder brother, was on my mother’s lap and Kidgent, the youngest, was on my father’s. In every kiddo games or even without games, it seemed that Vincent made the rules and at some point, Kidgent made the rules bent for him. Slowly, I was able to find answers with these issues. But then again, tantrums sometime visit my way.

Currently, I’m on-leave status as a Director of Culture and Arts Office of La Salle University (LSU), Ozamiz City (read more about LSU: https://www.lsu.edu.ph) in order to attend a three-year Diploma on Professional Theater Acting. I’m on my 2nd year now as a Theater Acting student in Intercultural Theater Institute (ITI), Singapore (read more about ITI: https://www.iti.edu.sg).

4. Ted Nudgent Tac-an ITI Family.jpg

My educational background is quite complicated that’s why I’ll bring you to the mysterious adventures of my two different realms – the Mathematics and the Arts.

The Realm of Mathematics

Basically, I’m a Licensed Professional Teacher in the Philippines. I graduated as a Magna cum Laude in Bachelor of Secondary Education major in Mathematics last 2010 in La Salle University, Ozamiz City. After graduation, La Salle University hired me as a Mathematics Teacher in their secondary school. I handled high school Mathematics subjects such as Algebra, Geometry and Statistics. As a Math teacher, I was able to develop modules which were exhibited in the De La Salle Philippine – Basic Education Curriculum’s Learning Leaders Congress.

5. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Graduation Pic.JPG

I was also a coach of our students in competing not only to Division Math Challenges and Olympiads but also to Regional and National Quiz Bees. For the period of five (5) years, the following were my major achievements:

  • 2012 Division Most Outstanding Private School Teacher
  • 2014 National Winner for Culture-Based Lesson Exemplar
  • 2015 Outstanding Faculty of the University
  • 2015 Regional Winner for Extemporaneous Public Speaking for Teachers

6. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Tatsulok.JPG

I also finished my Masters in Education Degree with distinction last 2012 in the same university. With this plus all of the aforementioned achievements, I was featured in a Philippine Mathematics magazine – the Tatsulok.

Apart from being a plain Mathematics teacher, I handled several student-organizations like Student Government and Boy Scouts of the Philippines.

The Realm of Arts

7. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Teatro guindegan.JPG

While I was busy with my academic classes during my university days, I also joined the resident theater company of the university – the Teatro Guindegan (see more about Teatro Guindegan: https://www.facebook.com/LSUTG/). I was one of the founding members of the theater company. And so, when I was hired in the same university, I sat as the Associate Director of Teatro Guindegan (until present). My involvement in the theater company brought me to different milestones. Amongst were as follows:

  • Scholar, Graduate Diploma in Cultural Education which leads to the completion of my 2nd Masters in Education degree majoring Cultural Education
  • Scholar, Indonesian Culture and Arts Scholarship 2015
  • National and International Performer for various theater and performance festival

8. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Hugis.JPG

Last 2016, I crossed the bridge from Mathematics to the Arts by asking the university if I could not anymore teach Math. And thus, aside from giving me Performing Arts and Arts Production Classes, they designated me as the Director for Culture and the Arts. Fortunately, I got in a Theater Acting school in Singapore which I’m currently studying now. This was a turning point in the crossroads of my life.

9. Ted Nudgent Tac-an ITI.JPG

Furthermore, while I was busy with my theater acting studies here in Singapore. I’m also venturing into other art forms. I took online classes on drawing, sketching, and photography (you will see more of these in my next blogs). I continued writing poetry verses and plays and I never stop moving – I mean dancing.

10. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Acting.JPG

11. Ted Nudgent Tac-an IphonePhotography.jpg

Please follow my instagram photography account: tediphonephotography.

My Family

Jumping from different realms is quite difficult. Yet, my family embraces me with all of their love and support. I have nothing much word about my family. I am just overwhelmed of giving back my love and support to them.

12. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Family.jpeg

P.S.: I’m the only one left single in the family. Both of my brothers are married and they both got one child.

Travel

Travel gives me pleasure. For this year, I’m completing my ASEAN journey. I’ll write more on this in my next blogs.

13. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Travel.JPG

Love

I’m always in love. It’s just that I’m single. And I firmly believe, “it” will come.

14. Ted Nudgent Tac-an Love.JPG

Surely, you will get to know me more in future blogs. I would be happy to express myself here and share more of my art pieces may it be tangible or intangible. I would love to know all of you too as we go along in this platform. I would also like to express my warmest thanks for the people who followed my account: @a-7 @a-a-a @a-a-a-a @aabaabenily @adilaltay @ahabib @always1success @ammadkhalid @askarif @autoresteem @best10 @bongshift @booster007 @buddy67 @crypto-power @currentnews @deesy @doobby @gamemusic @hakeemshah96 @imagediet @jahedul @jerybond @jesuslovers @johnsmit @khadafibarawas @leprechaun @lifefit @missinglinks @money-dreamer @pokerman @prince-evans @raza786 @rmp @roooster @sawdah @scientificmemo @sportic @steemfiles @sundarrajan @valblomqvist @vishnuvardhan @vivekkanade @xyza . I will followback you all and hopefully, you will share my post and my succeeding posts.

All the best, Steemians!

Love,

@nudgent

Sort:  

Welcome aboard.........we are here to guide u
()

Thanks! I’ll surely ask for help soon.

this was a great introduction post

Thanks! It’s my pleasure.

welcome to steemit community kuya @nudgent! :D

Salamat Xy!

Another artist! Awesome! Welcome to the community dude!

Thanks, too! Let’s fill the world with awesome art pieces!

Yay,you have a great name..sounds cool.Keep steeming..

Thanks for appreciating my name! Stay in touch!

Welcome to Steemit. Show the world how talented filipinos are. You will have a great time here. Really nice to know Filipinos are growing here in Steemit😊 I haven’t been in Cebu but would love to see the place soon. 😊

Thank you so much! I’d love to show the world how great Filipinos are. I hope that my simple contributions will justify its greatness! Visit Cebu soon or any island in the Philippines...you would love it. I’ll be posting some of my travels in the Philippines soon.

Oo nga I want to really see Cebu. Hopefully soon. Medyo busy pa kasi sa work 😊

Beep me if you are heading there... I can introduce you to my close friends...I’m singapore based pa kasi ngayon...

Sayang...SINULOG pa naman ngayon...

Hi guys! A little correction: Maayong buntag means good morning. Thanks!

kuya pwede man nimo ma edit ang imo post heheheh

Done! Thanks!

okaaaaaaay heheh

Hey 😀🙌 welcome to steemit! Enjoy your steemit journey

You can follow my blog @jofomaja on how to do creative marketing even here on steemit

I promise I won’t waste your time.

Thanks! I will check on your blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84